Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yellow River Submarine

by pawegio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You became a captain of my submarine. Try not to sunk it by avoiding contact with stones. You can collect some awesome artifacts to enjoy your journey, but be careful, because not all of them are helpful. Have fun and pass as much nautical miles as it's possible!

I would be grateful for your feedback!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#514Mood3.03
#542Humor2.45
#558Fun3.00
#572Audio2.75
#575Theme3.24
#775Overall2.95
#1071Graphics2.34
#1150Innovation2.16

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:07pm

The web link doesn't work for me :/ It looks really nice :)

SyBen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29pm

The audio works really well with the atmosphere ! Died when the shield vanished with no warning, sorry for your submarine :(

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Its a fun game, i liked the music but the sounds effects didn't fit with it.

Made 5 nautical miles. That driving wheel is not helping :(

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Looks good but I can't get the link to work either.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Doesn't seem to become harder over time in any way and the only real danger is going for dangerously placed powerups that most of the time don't even help. If it is going to last forever like it appears there need to be something made harder all the time.

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Good idea, the "no powerups"

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Enjoyed your game, I think the use of light for powerups is very cool, and perhaps it could focus even more on that aspect.

I reached 9 miles - and become quite good at reverse controls. I thought collecting another wheel would reverse it, but...

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:35pm

It's nicey, but it throws out an error when I restart it. It could also use more obstacles, and maybe a beep to warn you when the shield is going kaput. good game tho.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

I enjoyed playing this, and played about 10 times. Then I managed to get the hang of it and reached 15 miles, but it didn;t seem to be getting any harder so I stopped playing. Avoid the steering wheels!

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

I am now stressed - love the steering wheel "upgrade" ;)

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43pm

It was frustratingly difficult to dodge sometimes, but was pretty fun otherwise. Good job :)

tompudding says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

The music reminded me of sonar pings, a really good fit. The game is fun too, though I think the extra light made it a bit too easy.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Nice collection of powerups, got up to 13.6!

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52am

It works for me. Fun little game!

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53am

Hahaa I died within the beginning second or 2 a couple times, but managed to get through for a while. Overall good job! I love the audio.

devince says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53am

Gameplay is well balanced which is not easy well done.

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:54am

13.8 nautical miles.

cavf88 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Have fun with it. The controls are smooth.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33pm

were those sounds made with inudge? :)

pawegio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23pm

@PapyGaragos you are right :) here it is: http://inudge.net/#5s87

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19pm

fun idea, nice overall very well done :)

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:15pm

I liked the different power-ups! Nice background music, too.

mortus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:16am

A simple gesign, but nice execution. I like how responsive the controls are, that's something you can rarely see in a bigger game. One simple thing that you can change to improve the game IMO is to make boulders appear less often and instead add more negative powerups.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]