Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hymn of the Moles

by King_Mew - Jam Entry

You are a "Mole", working in a mine. A "Chub" has hired you.
To keep morale up, you sing traditional "Mohelmot" songs.

Squares will fly in towards squares in the center of the screen.
Press the arrow key of the appropriate direction when the square aligns with the other square.
If you miss, you will miss a life. Missing 4 lives will cause you to start the sequence over again.



Windows version FINALLY released!

To people running Linux, specifically Ubuntu/Linux Mint:
Not all dependencies are in the repositories, so you'll have to compile and install them yourself. Sorry! :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#273Humor(Jam)2.81
#427Mood(Jam)2.97
#549Audio(Jam)2.54
#601Graphics(Jam)2.75
#602Fun(Jam)2.49
#633Overall(Jam)2.71
#641Innovation(Jam)2.40
#700Theme(Jam)2.21

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:10pm

It's nice to see Linux game at LD :)

jujule says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:02pm

I liked the radicaly bare graphics and sound. Controls were a bit unprecise.
Good work.

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Reminds me of old ZX Spectrum and other old computer games. Shame the DDR elements don't actually form a melody, but it's a neat mini game for a while.

May 1, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Nice with a Linux game.

Unfortunately I couldn't get it to work.

I tried installing the dependencies (in Linux Mint, an Ubuntu derivate) with:

sudo apt-get install libsdl2-2.0-0 libsdl2-image-2.0-0 libglew1.8 libsdl-ttf2.0-0

But I think the last one is for SDL 1.x, because I get the error:

$ ./moles
./moles: error while loading shared libraries: libSDL2_ttf-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

May 1, 2014 @ 11:48pm

This is 80's DDR ! haha

Benjamin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Fun game. I went to the to the stage where the square get faster ( 4 or 5 ) but could not pass this one. I liked the mood and the little animation/narative inbetween rounds.

praporomsk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:02am

8-bit dance simulator, wow :)

reheated says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:32am

I don't feel qualified to talk about the artistic value of this game (there appears to be a big back story behind it) so I'll just bring up a technical issue. Did you take account of the latency between buffering a sound and it actually coming out the speaker? For me (playing under Windows) it was very hard to play to the rhythm. I finished the game but not before turning off my headphones.

XenosNS says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:57am

I can't sing

Rabbits... says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:04am

yay for linux, ran this on my archlinux box, the premise was a little shaky and a wasn't too good at it, but it ran very well on my machine

danialhyatt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:59pm

My favourite entry so far!! this one is excellent

Nichii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Fun game, love the idea, the quotes that appear made me smile once in a while

trueyomic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Very neat rhythm game. I feel it had a very somber mood as the game went on. I was able to finish it and liked the different note patterns (as a fan of DDR). Good job on the game

vinull says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:21am

Weird take on theme... or just weird in general =p The changes in how the notes appeared kept things interesting and I like that death didn't seem to start my back at level one, though about 6 levels in I refused to work for the chub any longer!

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Liked the bare bones graphical style, unfortunately the controls where a bit unresponsive, And I died while pressing the correct buttons.

danialhyatt says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:12am

man, that one tune is stuck in my head. its the 5th or 6th stage maybe? you know which one i'm talking about ;)

fluidvolt says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:46am

I never in a million years thought I'd see a Residents-themed game here. You did a great job getting the mood of those albums across, and especially good at bringing over the serious class/xenophobia themes to the game, but in a subdued way. I can only imagine what this is like to someone unfamiliar with the source material!

I love the atari vibe to it all. I did have quite a bit of trouble getting the notes timed right, and I haven't beat the game (yet).

All in all great work, I loved it.

dertom says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Even on linux it was easier to play the windows-version using wine :D The game itself is challenging, at least if you don't cheat. You can just hit all four arrows all the time and you (dirty mole) will win all the time :D. You should add some kind of punishment if e.g. you press to often the wrong one per time-unit. None the less nice game. "Work hard and you might get paid" :D

ChuiGum says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Love the sounds, very innovative

Moosefly says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:20pm

I swear some of those "notes" were off by just a few milliseconds to throw me off :P. Managed to finish it though, and especially the last song was synced really well. Don't know the source material, but I think it worked nicely despite that. I liked to varying movement patterns too.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

May 11, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Pretty decent game, though I wish the notes didnt disappear. I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series! :) http://youtu.be/7oB_8pUypJo

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:01am

Although a bit crude, this is still a fun game. And even though it's a straightforward DDR-like rhythm game, the odd style of the "songs" certainly gave the game a unique charm. The added challenge of non-linear patterns to the "note" icons was a nice touch and makes one rely more on beat (using the in-game metronome, which is a great feature) than visual queues, which is pretty cool. The beat patterns also got a bit tricky later on; nice job on that!

My biggest complaint is the fact that the target slots around the main character are the same colour as the notes, so it's really hard to tell when notes are right over the targets (which is when you press a key). That wouldn't be a problem if the metronome did a good job of indicating the beat, but it felt a bit off the mark once the levels got faster.

Nanolotl says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:36am

Very nice style and overall feeling. The sounds and graphics meshed really well, especially when the 'chub' was talking.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]