Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surface

by Available0xFF - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my very first ludum dare game. The only libraries I used are SFML for graphics rendering and Box2D for collision detection. I coded everything else(even if the code is a bit messy :P ). Please let me know what you think.

EDIT: I switched to Dropbox, so now you can download the entire game within a zip folder
EDIT2: The commands are: A and D to move, Shift to Run(!) and space to jump.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2022Coolness20%

Comments

shaulor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11pm

couldnt get it to work, it was missing libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll and libstdc++-6.dll when i copied those into the folder it crashed on start :(

jrap says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:31am

Error message: "The program can't start because "libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."

niculistana says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:55am

Please fix!

Available0xFF says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Ok, sorry for this. I'm trying to fix it. It's the first time I "publish" a game xD

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I get the same error message as jrap.

sfdnetwork says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Crashed on launch.

Available0xFF says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Ok, I included the two dlls missing. Please try now.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:01pm

The movement is kind of hard and very slow. Also the bouncing makes it more difficult; was fun tho.
Congrats on your first LD mate :D i hope you had fun n.n great work (:

Cirrial says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Very, very slow game. If I jump into the side of a box I go rocketing downwards. I see what you were trying to do here but it feels like wading through treacle. I think the player acceleration is off, maybe too slow. While realistic, it isn't necessarily that fun to play! Still, a very nice first entry. Hope to see you in future competitions!

Knowledge says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:35pm

It's imposible to pass 1. level and it's very slow.
Next time you should go to the jam.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:40am

Slow finicky jump

Knowledge says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:31pm

I get it now. :)

Moosefly says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Heh, good to see someone using the same tools (C++ and SFML) that we ourselves started with a few Ludum Dares earlier :).

The physics are somewhat wonky, sometimes I got shot straight down when trying to jump on the edge, and the bouncing made it somewhat difficult. The gameplay could've also been faster. The bubbles also disappeared after a few stages.

Also took a look at your code out of interest, and didn't find it too messy.

Good job managing to get something done for your first Ludum Dare! Even more so with the tools you used.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]