Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the surface, chasing the killer...

by snake5 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game where you get to chase down a murderer through an underground cave/basement complex. Danger may come from every corner as you explore the unknown area to seek out and neutralize your enemy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#193Mood3.51
#263Graphics3.65
#285Audio3.19
#558Fun3.00
#632Overall3.11
#887Innovation2.62
#1001Humor1.75
#1108Theme2.35

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:24pm

The mood is excellent, and the lighting affects are perfect for what you were going for. I was kind of hoping for more hazards other than the killer, but he was fun to chase around the map for a while :)

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Some sound effects would be nice. But I liked it. It has a nice atmosphere and the lightning is nice. But it is annoying that the player is dead after he was hit once.

kratorspore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Very atmospheric wight great lighting and sound. Would be more challenging if the murderer didn't always spawn in the same place though as once I knew this I could get him pretty much every time.

igwb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:51pm

It doesn't load for me.
http://imgur.com/Kiikc2m
Translation: "Das System kann den angegebenen Pfad nicht finden" means "Path not found".
Running Win7

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Really fun game

Balint197 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19pm

I really liked the mood. I think the disappearing of the enemy was a great touch, it made me feel more vulnerable. I really enjoyed your game and the graphics were nice too! Well done!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:22pm

The graphics are great, excellent use of shadow mapping. It has a definite Hotline Miami feel, with a better visual style in my opinion. Just a shame there's not more of it to play! But you've got a good start to take it further. Good work.

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:19pm

That lighting! Very mood intense game loved it

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Very well made, though the game play was not so challenging. Maybe add a couple of killers? :)

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32pm

i enjoied playing this game!

Daylon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:35pm

I absolutely love the lighting! The music is great as well! This would go wonderfully with a multiplayer aspect, where you can only see someone when you shine the light on them.

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:53pm

I liked the game. Good job :D

neosam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Five points for mood! I think if you put more work into this game, you can create a great game!

JayPC says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:34pm

I liked the music and controls, I just wish you had more then 1 health because the enemies can shoot you from off screen and I don't know where they are. Also gun sounds would also be cool

JayPC says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:35pm

I liked the music and controls, I just wish you had more then 1 health because the enemies can shoot you from off screen and I don't know where they are. Also gun sounds would also be cool.

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:47am

Graphic were nice, but the game was extremely short >.>

MithosKuu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:37pm

I love what you've got going so far, give it more maps or a randomly generated map and it would be a blast, multiplayer would be fun too, especially if you could turn your flashlight off

Reinkout says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:21am

The controls were great for me! Thanks.

Tifu says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Fun game. Nice mood and lighting. I'd like a hard mode, where you can only see the killer if he is in your flashlight beam >D

someone says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Very nice, though far too short and a bit too easy to beat.
Great lighting effects and art style.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]