Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Haunted Mine

by fallingBear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are alone in abandoned mine, trying to stay alive.

The idea behind this game is you control a player that is trying to survive in a hostile mine shaft, constantly running out of health, fighting enemies. Player would collect resources and sell it for better equipment.

-- Controls --
Arrow keys / WASD : Move
Left click/hold : Dig

-- Tools --
- IDE: Unity/C#
- Graphic : MS Paint
- Audio : sfxr

Being this my first LD entry + my poor time managment skills, I did not finish the game, though I would like to in the future :)
Thanks for playing :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#126Graphics3.94
#308Theme3.55
#391Audio3.02
#418Mood3.15
#591Innovation3.02
#928Overall2.79
#942Humor1.88
#1000Fun2.47

Comments

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21am

Not finished, but looks cool :) Nice idea with lights.

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Looks cool, but i cant jump, and there are places in which you can get stuck completely

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Looks nice, shame there's not much interaction

xevozfighter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

I like the lighting effects. The music sets the mood nicely. I can't wait to see what you do with this game.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Very good looking, i really would like to play full game!

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:35pm

That's a nice entry. Congrats.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Solid entry ! I really like the visuals (especially the lightning and the character), it reminds me Minecraft :) Great gameplay, you did a really good job !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Lovely graphics, would make a great game with some more work! :)

VividReality says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Not done, regretfully, but it's a very promising start!

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Wow. Amazing entry. One of my favourites :D
Too bad you didnt finish it :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Absolute loved the concept, and would LOVE to play this game with the elements you mentioned you want to add. Loved the use of lighting, was very satisfying to dig down and have a tunnel suddenly appear. Looks reallly nice, and would get an almost perfect rating from me if there was more content. I Really hope you continue to work on it. If you don't I'm going to steal your idea!

fallingBear says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:18am

Thank you guys. I did not expect such a positive feedback. I am working on a post LD version, that will hopefully deliver promised functionality.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:23pm

So I played and rated this a couple days ago, and can't get it out of my head! I really want to make a clone of this, but know that I would be really upset if someone did that to me.

If you ever abandon this idea, or are ok with me making something similar, PLEASE let me know @DarkMeatGames.

Keep up the good work, yo!

adamwfindlay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Really cool idea and presentation, would like to see a finished version!

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Too bad you didn't finish it, you've come up with a great look for it & I'd love to play it again if you ever do go back and finish it.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Its a great start, can't wait until you add more.

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Great graphics, but I couldn't jump, and fell out of the world on the bottom. Besides the few bugs, it was a great atmosphere. I love the FEZ style world!

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Very nice looking game. I would like to play it when you have had a bit more time to develop it.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Hey congrats on your first LD!

You did a good job setting up the fundation of a game here. I like the 2d/3d art

ehtd says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:21pm

I liked the rotation of the game, It will be nice to have a post-compo version.

MattV says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:39am

the game FEELS really good to where I was actually disappointed to not be able to keep playing! Definitely keep working on it!

jomomomo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Needs enemies!

jsspiegel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Really like the concept, I think it would make a great finished game, and even what you have is really good!

javierecf says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:04am

It looks really pretty. and the controls are precise too. i could not figure out how to jump (if even possible). The camera movement is neat and adds to the mood of diggin a giant piece of land.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:09am

This looks gorgeous! I dug all the way down the first time and fell before realizing you have a FEZ-like turny thing going on. I hope you decide to finish this, it looks like it could end up being an awesome game :) If you put up a website or twitter or something I'd subscribe to see if you update it!

DonovanWu says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:14am

Love the mechanics of 2D walking plus 3D rotation!

HeroesGrave says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:45am

Any chance of a Linux port?

mcapraro says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:36am

love the graphics, its a great start for a cool mining game, good work!

romandtom says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:01am

Beautiful graphics ;)

mortus says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:43am

Nice wrap-around-the-corner feature and visuals style overall. Post-compo version also looks more fun, too bad you didn't have time to make it during the jam.

Jeremias says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Sad that you were not able to finish this in time :( After playing the post-compo version - you should continue working on it!

elmoGames says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Pretty good, still not a game, but I liked what is there so far.

deathray says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:52pm

It's missing quite a bit, but like others have said - it's a great start. I like the lighting and the world rotation the best.

PriorBlue says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Nice Concept! I would definitely play it again with every new little feature. :)

Teesquared says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Nice art style and mood. I like the Fez and Minecraft blend. After digging a while (post compo version) I didn't find much and died due to low health.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]