Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Everybody Hates Water Levels

by Paladin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(MAY UPDATE - If you liked the compo version of this game but wished it was slightly better, I've worked a bit more on it. The definitive version is available here: http://paladinofcats.free.fr/jam/EHWL.zip
Of course this link is *not* suitable for judging purposes by any means.)


---


***CONTROLS***

- Arrow keys and mouse.

- F1 to rebind keys.

- Terrain is destructible (aside from the level borders).

- You can die from your own blasts.



***NOTES***

- I didn't have the time to implement checkpoints and mini-map. As a result the game is hard. (Exit is on the top-right corner.)

- Source is a Clickteam Fusion 2.5 file.

- Timestamp note for the jugdes: toggled built-in key rebindings in a post-deadline build in order to accomodate for laptops. No asset/code was added.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#332Humor2.80
#490Theme3.34
#637Audio2.61
#734Innovation2.82
#754Overall2.97
#765Mood2.76
#902Graphics2.62
#931Fun2.58

Comments

Lrnk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53am

Nice! The destructable terrain is fun, and the air bubble thing filled me with Sonic the Hedgehog nostalgia

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:11am

Could you please add WASD controls? Otherwise, I can't play it on my laptop (because using the touchpad with your left hand - you don't really want to do that:)

Paladin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:14am

@JALgames - Yup, doing that right now.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:26am

Getting "Error: Erreur de fichier!" when I try and run. Windows 8, 64 bit.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Very solid entry !

Bashosha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Nice One :)

NukeTheBunnys says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Chrome told me the download was malicious and wouldn't let me download it. Normally I have the option to override with things like LD games, not this time

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Always happy to see other people using Fusion. I found the gameplay a little aggravatingly slow, but I suppose I shouldn't complain about a game called "Everybody Hates Water Levels" :] Five stars for humor.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Pretty hard, plays pretty well though.

Paladin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27pm

@UltimateWalrus - Indeed. Perhaps I'll write a post-mortem note on the whole thing.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:08am

The "ER-ER-ER-ER-ER" alarm is hilarious. I was a little confused that I needed oxygen at first, but overall nicely done.

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:10am

You're right. EVERYBODY hates water levels.

Dominator_101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Pretty fun! Hard, though. But then again, it is a water level :P

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Chrome wouldn't let me download it because it's "malicious"

Paladin says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:23pm

According to the testers of a post-compo version, it seems there is consistent issues with Chrome downloading and compatibility with Windows 8, that are probably tied to the Clickteam Fusion engine.

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Haha. I really liked that 'beep-beep' sound. And graphics, and idea. And all.

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:45am

love mouth sounds but i think the volumes for the music/bfxr/recorded sounds need to be balanced better - had to turn up pretty high to hear the music

liked the kinda claustrophobic feel from the light, v appropriate for undersea. the intro is too long for how easily i die :p

Zutty says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:28am

Solid game, though the slow movement combined with the fact that you sometimes stick to the ceiling are slightly frustrating. Love the sound effects.

Draknek says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Since it's not fullscreen, I can easily click outside the game and lose focus.

WASD should be the default rather than arrow keys. Or even better, they'd both work and you could use either without configuration.

The initial oxygen bubbles looked like they were a hud rather than in the world.

I can die by shooting too close to the wall? :/

Volume levels of sfx are too high.

Didn't get out of starting area because it takes too long to get anywhere.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]