Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

No Hawking

by jellymann - Jam Entry

Enter White Holes to collect globules of purple-orange Hawking Radiation.

The Natives of the White Holes might take offense at your presence.

You only have 5 probes so make them count!

Controls:
WASD - Movement (Sorry DVORAK and AZERTY users!)
Left Mouse - Fire / Enter White Hole
Space - Leave White Hole [WARNING! Probe is lost]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#592Humor(Jam)1.94
#633Mood(Jam)2.52
#641Audio(Jam)1.78
#667Graphics(Jam)2.50
#677Fun(Jam)2.25
#682Innovation(Jam)2.25
#687Overall(Jam)2.52
#689Theme(Jam)2.26
#1651Coolness42%

Comments

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Man, I wish I still had my MacBook, I'd love to try this out. Sorry. :c

jellymann says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:03pm

@Cirral We are working on a Windows build. Will hopefully be up within 24 hours, so watch this space :)

Vytheros says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Unable to play due to not having a Macintosh

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Lack of sound was disappointing, and often spawned with about 5 of the enemies shooting at a rapid pace at me.
It felt kind of shallow, though the physics were pretty decent and graphically it wasn't bad.

jellymann says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:09pm

@Cirrial @Vytheros Windows build now up

quickfingers says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:42pm

I really like it :) Combat feels nice and challenging

Cirrial says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Nice entry, although got significant slowdown in each white hole after a while. Also enemies got stuck on each other. Nice idea. A little more exposition as to what was going on might have been nice.

FGM says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Might just be my old laptop, but the game lags for split second every time a bullet is fired from me or enemies.

jellymann says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:16am

@Cirrial @FGM There are known performance issues. We would have liked to have had them fixed by the end of the jam but there wasn't enough time/our brains had stopped working by then/there's some hidden beast in our code that just wants to eat clock cycles. Thanks for the feedback :)

pikkpoiss says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:38am

The white hole effects were pretty cool and overall I got similar feeling to the game Flow, which is awesome. However, the white holes themselves wound up being pretty difficult. I think adding some sort of obvious indication about how well the player is doing / progress through the level/game would help.

ZYXer says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:41pm

I like how you use the universe as a level selection where the player can enter the white holes to play a level

The fights are extremely hard. It would be nice if the health of my probe would replenish. Or if it would be possible to earn a new probe.

It's nice how you used the concept of white holes as the game's background story.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]