Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under Soul

by CastEclipse - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Experience the peaceful journey of Cube, who is desperate to reunite with his Soul.

Thanks for checking out my game, Under Soul. This is a 2D puzzle platformer game made with Stencyl for the Ludum Dare 29. Get ready to be immersed into the relaxing world of Under Soul. Green grass and fresh air, plus calm and quiet background music. Since this game is, in my opinion, pretty challenging, I made a walkthrough/gameplay for those who are stuck on a level:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tbJOirfjLg8

Thanks again for your time and devotion to this delightful, peaceful experience and I sincerely hope you enjoy it!

|| Controls ||
Arrow keys to move

|| Tools ||
Stencyl 3.0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#60Mood3.90
#78Overall3.87
#108Audio3.63
#139Graphics3.91
#196Fun3.51
#242Innovation3.53
#275Theme3.59
#431Humor2.61
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Calm and relaxing images and sound, but complicated and sometimes frustrating sequences...
The feeling is a bit strange. An interesting game, though.

guscost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01am

Wow, this is great!! Terrific idea!

pythong says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04am

Interestng conecpt. I don't know why, but the game got very laggy in the 'press r to restart' level (I used the kongregate link and died a few times)

CastEclipse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09am

Sorry for the lag although it works perfectly on my computer... may be a glitch.. anyways, thanks for checking my game out! :D

Aaants says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08am

Really nice work :)

zell2002 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:20pm

loved this! fun graphics, tight game controls. and a really interesting mechanic !

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:27pm

This is soo well made! Perfect graphics and sounds. Really great job!

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Clever concept, but a tad difficult for me. It was frustrating to carefully nudge things into place, then miss a jump, and have to start over.

CastEclipse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Sooooo sorry for the difficulty. Was deciding whether to make it easy or hard, but if it was easy, the game would be too boring. Anyways, thanks for checking out my game. Consider watching the video if it is too hard for you (and if you don't want to RAGE)!
:D

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Nice game :)
Like the puzzles.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Really cool concept and style - shame about the unforgiving difficulty which made the game quite frustrating. Good job, though!

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Nice music, decent graphics. Game got frustrating quick.

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Really relaxing, classic "symmetric" gameplay but with a lot of good idead and really well realised !
+5

IcyLava says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Nice idea, were you hoping for the "control more than one" theme? Music is good, helps carry out the mood. Didn't finish it, stopped at the one where you have to hold a block on your head, or something like that :P

Miltage says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Great game. I love the concept and you've executed it very well.

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Nice implementation! :)

Linkigi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39pm

very impressive game. Cute mood and graphics with a sweet soundtrack. Plays very smoothly too.
My only concern was when pushing blocks they could often slide right over the holes which was often frustrating and distracted from the mood.
The difficulty curve was fine in my opinion. I did notice a difficulty jump but it wasn't a hindrance to my progression so I don't think it was a problem.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Great game! But the controls are a bit too sensitive for me. Anyway game feels solid. Art is cool, sound is great!

CastEclipse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Thanks for the feedback guys! I really appreciate it! Extremely sorry about the difficulty... some people enjoy hard puzzles while others prefer a more moderate difficulty.

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:28am

Very good game !

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Lovely game. Sometimes I wonder if I got the correct solution.

Jools64 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:45pm

This is a great entry, nice graphics, sound and game-play. The level design is really nice, made me think while not being annoyingly difficult. Well done!

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:12pm

I love this concept, but it is sooooo hard, sometimes so frustrating (first level with blocks). Otherwise excellent game, brilliant execution :D

May 2, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Alright. I already left you a comment on Newgrounds too, but I'll sum it up here. I liked the game. The mechanics weren't the most original, but you put your own spin to it. The theme, mood and concept were pretty cool, as was the music!
This was a pretty fun game; good job!

koe415 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Great mood. The concept works very well with the theme. Music and visuals are very polished for a 48 hour game. The one thing I found was at odds was how frustrating the gameplay was when trying to figure out a puzzle versus how relaxing the visuals and audio were. Anyways, really impressive overall.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Great mechanics! Extremely well done!

Cute graphics too! :)

dector says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Very nice entry!

But it'll be great if you'll improve level's design. Now it takes some time to repeat same action again and again.

I enjoyed this. Thank you.

k.escoe says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:08pm

great job!

CodeNMore says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Good concept, fair fit of the theme, fun and challenging!

lowcade says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:51am

Nice!
The levels is really hard, I enjoy it.
Good music, good graphics, nice game ^^
Thankyou

GFM says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:32am

I'm amazed by how well made this is! The graphics is really beautiful, an the song is great and soothing. The core mechanic was also quite new, for me. Although hard, I had fun trying to pass each level.
For it to be perfect it only lacked minor polish, in my opinion: sfx for the boulder (push/drop) and torch. It's a simple thing that makes a difference in such a high quality game. Not having those doesn't take anything from the game, though.

An outstanding game. Congrats. :)

monsterkillu says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:57am

Really cool puzzles. Fluid gameplay. Could've removed the edge fall at world ends. Great execution.

King_Mew says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:00am

Good idea! The only problem I had was that it was a bit too difficult for me. I got stuck by the 3rd or so level.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]