Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Havoc2d

by Idkfawin32 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

YOU NEED JAVA TO RUN THIS

This is a rather incomplete game, I'm saddened that I couldn't finish it however I was at least able to do everything from scratch and finish an entry for LUDUM DARE! I've been wanting to do this for 3 years or so so I am very happy I could do it.


I DID NOT INCLUDE INSTRUCTIONS IN THE GAME:

This is how to play:

-You have 3 minutes to destroy as much stuff as you can. In this case, cars because I didn't finish any of the other destructible items.

d: accelerate
a: slow down/reverse
w: PUNCH UP
space: Engage Magnet

when you get notified that you can upgrade, you either hit the p or m key to upgrade p = puncher m = magnet.

You are an angry person for some reason under the ground, and you have a tank that you use to terrorize the city above. The original goal of the game was to be able to upgrade your punch until you can escape from underneath the surface, but I couldn't finish it.

However, it has mildly fun gameplay, I look forward to everyone's feedback.


*SOFTWARE AND MIDDLEWARE USED*
-JAVA
-Eclipse
-LibGDX
-Paint.NET
-SFXR

**Other notes

-The source is really messy
-You cannot make and sell a game based on my source unless you get my permission Idkfawin32@gmail.com
-You cannot use my sprites/textures commercially without my permission Idkfawin32@gmail.com
-If you want to team up with me to finish and produce a commercial title out of this demo, I am certainly interested

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#50Fun3.88
#178Theme3.71
#235Humor3.03
#308Graphics3.58
#333Innovation3.39
#348Overall3.40
#651Audio2.59
#801Mood2.71

Comments

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:24am

The magnet had a lot of potential, but it wasn't very effective. It would have been nice to be able to throw cars into eachother or pull down helicopters, so I can see where you were going with it, but as it stands, it's better to just punch and watch things flip. That part is actually really fun, and the flip noises made me go back and play a second time just to see if I could more flips on a single car.

Rahazan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:24am

Very nice pixel art, it is satisfying to hit the cars with the puncher. The magnet seems quite pointless except for blowing yourself up by overheating it :P, I suppose that part is not finished yet.

Great job on your first entry!

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:28am

Yep, helicopters was going to be the next thing I added right after adding a bunch of other stuff behind the cars, such as newspaper stands, etc. But sadly I spent so much time tweaking the physics that this is all I could get out. But thanks for playing :)

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33am

Had a ton of fun with this. Well done!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:36am

I'm glad you added a timer, because I could sit here literally all day just throwing cars into other ones and watching them explode. It was so much fun to punch a car and see it do flips in the air. Really well done. Nice car graphics too, would love to play a more developed version of this! :)

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:07am

The graphics are great and the game play is fun, what more could you want. You should definitely continue developing this game.

lucienpro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:43am

It was fun and satasfying but it was obvious that you didn't get to finish and do as much as you would have liked to. Fun though, good job!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53am

Quite fun!

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:58am

This was FUN... magneting the cars along and then punching when there is a group.. boom... flip Flip FLIP
Suggestion: Move the magnet heat meter near the car where it can be seen while looking at the car, or give more obvious/exaggerated audio clues.
Satisfying.

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:09am

Nice work. Great concept. Interesting..

fizzics says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:25am

Great game! I just wanted to mention that libGDX's jar is runnable on Linux and Mac too! This can improve your visibility, I guess.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Graphics are crisps and controls are responsive. The game concept perfectly fits the compo theme, and is somewhat original. I liked the differential scrolling for the cavern background. Of course, being made in 48hr, there is little content.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:03pm

I feel like a broken record repeating that on every entry, but, please support arrows keys in addition to WASD. Some of us have azerty keyboards.

caryoscelus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Destructive fun! Is there some goal which you must accomplish before timeout?

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Pretty neat! It would have great to be able to destroy buildings too!

MrBlade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Very impressed with this game. Very fun, nice physics, good graphics, nice sounds, very good upgrading system, and it fit the theme well. I wish scores were implemented, but the amazing gameplay experience made up for that. The WASD + Space hand posture got tiring after a few minutes, but that's not a big deal. I would love to see a arrow key adaptation. Considering your released your source, I may add it myself. Would it be okay if I released it with an arrow key add-on? Keep it up!

LandoSystems says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Great work! That was way more satisfying than I expected it to be. This is great, you should polish it up, add some more features and release it as a mobile game. I really wish you could smash the building down too... Rampage from underground!

May 4, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Very well done graphics. Fun game play too.

tehryanx says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:16pm

this was great. The one thing I would have added under the time constraints would be allowing the cars to take damage when they collide with each other. That would give the magnet a ltitle more purpose. Overall, a super cool concept :D

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:22pm

That is good fun. Would be great if you could get score combos for smashing cars into each other, etc.

Nicely implemented scrolling too.

May 5, 2014 @ 8:13pm

well done man.. the magnet is quite fun :)

brodavi says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:54am

wooow so much fun :P I love punching those cars. very gratifying. too bad about the score, oh well, great game anyway :)

DonovanWu says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:02pm

This game has great potential for further development!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:36am

This has a lot of potential, but there isn't a lot of gameplay here yet. I could see an expanded version of this being really fun though, reminds me of those Indestructable Tank games.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]