Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Speak Softly and Carry a Big Stick

by shyupuff - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-----
EVER WANT TO RUN AROUND AND HIT MARSHMALLOWS WITH A STICK? WHAT? NO? HAHA THAT'S A GOOD ONE. YOU KNOW YOU DO.
Speak Softly and Carry a Big Stick
-----
Controls
WASD or Arrow Keys -> move & jump
space -> attack
-----
Made with:
Unity, C#, Photoshop, sfxr, cfxr, the internets.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#196Humor3.14
#314Graphics3.57
#952Mood2.53
#970Audio1.78
#1135Fun2.22
#1178Innovation2.07
#1188Overall2.37
#1213Theme1.96
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52am

I don't know what to say :D The controls were a bit iffy. The game is... absurd, is that the right word? Let's go with absurd. I liked the doodle-y graphics, though. :)

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52am

Controls don't seem to work for me.

aeveis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55am

funny, like the art!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:37am

Strange concept (hunting marshmallows, man!) but cute and entertaining. :)

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:40am

The collision detection feels pretty broken. But the art style is charming, and I chuckle at the idea of murderously slaying marshmallows.

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:48am

I thought it was a pretty decent game, I really liked the art style!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:48am

Great look to the art. If you keep working on the game you should be able to kill graham crackers and also chocolate and then make some smores.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:52am

The art is great! Like others said the collisions could use some work but I like the idea, especially the oddness of it all :)

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55am

I got my ass kicked by a marshmallow today, anyway I don't see the relevance to the theme but sometimes we don't have to in order to witness a masterpiece. Great job.

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15am

Well, it took time to muderously kill a marshmellow. Got 3.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04am

Not horrible

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:18am

As others have said, this game has slightly funky collisions and a great look.

Seriously, it looks great. I'd prefere if the lines were a constant thickness, so that the character didnt' stand out from the background.

I really like the marshmallows' behaviour, the way they jump around and they can get cornered. It made things tactically interesting.

Great effort, good compo entry. You should be proud!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:48am

love the graphics! :) simple but effective. Scored 8 !

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57pm

It's hard to tell if I'm constantly missing my attack or if the enemy has more than one point of health. I think the damage area is smaller than the attack looks.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Loved the art style. Combat was a bit frustrating, but I'd love to see a more polished game with this aesthetic. Nice work!

snooze82 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:52pm

WE NEED MOAR WEAPONS :D

Figglewatts says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Art is a good style, game could have been fleshed out more though.

Maniulo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 6:43pm

My record is 2 murdered marshmallows. The only way to actually slain them was to get them cornered.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]