Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Woodcutter's Folly

by Troy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This has been my first Ludum Dare, and I have thoroughly enjoyed it.

A (very) short platformer game. Join woodcutter Axel, as he stumbles across an extensive ruined city built beneath the ground.

Made using GM:Studio, Audacity, Gimp, and a little bit of help from IcoFX and Anvil Studios.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#401Fun3.20
#482Graphics3.27
#574Overall3.17
#602Audio2.67
#619Mood2.92
#659Humor2.29
#793Theme2.97
#925Innovation2.57

Comments

helekopeter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25pm

cool puzzle mechanics!

guimonpa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:43am

Great game! My only complaint is that the death animation is too long

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:37pm

solid leves and gameplay- keep making games!

MrLeePerry says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:29am

Good stuff, was compelled to keep at it after dying quite a bit on some screens. Enjoyed it!

AutumnGuy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:52am

Pretty cool mechanics, nice job.

zzForrest says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:08am

Very nice! Short, but sweet. The control was a bit floaty, which made platforming difficult, but it isn't too big of a deal. Also, it seems that the axe breaks block mechanic was utilized only a few times. Did you run out of time? Anyhow, good game. Hope you had a good first LD!
-zzforrest

Empyrealhell says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:17am

The controls were off. A little too slippery with too floaty-feeling jumps. Not bad outside of that.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:20am

Cool game. Fun platformer. Definitely didn't use the axe as much as I thought I would have to. Nice work.

ChuiGum says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:25am

Very very nice! Love the graphics, gameplay, and innovation!

GAFBlizzard says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:30am

Cute graphics. The engine seemed very laggy (Firefox 28.0). The hit sound seemed to be about 0.25 seconds behind when the player would touch the ground, and controls were very floaty.

manabreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:36am

I liked it, had to play through both "endings". :) The controls were smooth and worked just like I wanted. The puzzles were nice, and most sounds were sitting there quite well. Overall, nice job. :)

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:41am

Yeah, great ideas for the puzzles, tiny art works pretty well and the sound are nice. Really a great work there!

pyrogames says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:50am

Interesting... I like the simple graphics style but the tiles that only collide on the top aren't obvious enough and the platforming feels a bit floaty to me. The controls were very familiar to me, though, from both my game and numerous other games I've played

poxpoxpox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:27am

One of the most fun games i've played this ludum date. Good work!

Agecaf says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:33am

It was a bit hard to control, especially for those landings on little 1x1 blocks. The current flow, however, was quite interesting. It also has a nice unexpected ending!

01101101 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:39am

Nice platformer, I liked the "delayed circuit" mechanic. As the others said, too bad we didn't get to use the axe more ;) Good job!

Troy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:25am

Thanks for all the feedback you guys. You have no idea how much I appreciate it.

ZQMony says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:30am

Great, but when you jump its like your on the moon.

May 4, 2014 @ 11:58pm

I like the mechanics, and the graphics are a nice implementation that meshes well with the audio to create a nice mood. I agree with the controls being floaty, perhaps moreso based on what we're accustomed to. Would have liked to seen more!

Teesquared says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Simple and challenging platformer. Frustration level was high for me. Only made it through the first few levels :( I liked the switch puzzles.

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:27pm

I really enjoyed that. Too bad my greed cost me dearly at the end. I didn't even know what that was supposed to be. Thought it was a flower. Apparently my love of flowers cost me dearly.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]