Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Mole Hole

by Sylvain Dubrofsky - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Story
-----
All the other moles have been whacked. The area beneath the surface is toxic. But you refuse to permanently leave your home. Try to survive...

Control
--------
* Mouse click a mole hole to move to it
* Click SND/MUS to turn off sound effects or music

Tips
----
* YOU LOSE HEALTH UNDERGROUND

Challenge
---------
Post your top score in the comments if you're up for it!


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#185Humor3.18
#212Theme3.66
#283Innovation3.47
#517Fun3.06
#599Mood2.94
#602Audio2.67
#640Overall3.10
#1129Graphics2.20

Comments

tentativedibs says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Thanks for playing!
-------------------
I'll put more detailed info on my Ludum Dare journal.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30am

A nice addicting game.

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30am

I like how you took a classic game and reversed the players role. Nice job on the theme. This game is challenging.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

Nice reversal of concept, and cool soundtrack. Great job!

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

what a fun concept! Dialog is hilariously unexpected.

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41am

Nice share button.

letoine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43am

Fun idea. Good rendition of the subject

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:04am

Why don't you take a picture with YOUR phone?

sapermysz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Great idea and nice game

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Thanks guys! It's my first Ludum Dare so I'm thankful for the kind words.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Here's my share...my highest score yet: http://imgur.com/twVuS3j

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:39pm

96 seconds...

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Great idea and pretty fun for 48hrs. I kept thinking about Caddyshack :) I never made it much past 45 secs or so, about when the difficulty increased. Could definitely see something like this on mobile.

garbagetrucks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15am

Yeah nice concept and good tension.

Fortyseven says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28am

Very interesting concept. :)

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:10am

good reversal of concept

copain says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:06am

really good idea. I was imagined the hammer was controlled by max (from sam & max).

billhung says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:14am

the web link is not working

MrLeePerry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Worked for me! Dig it! That hammer up there is so imposing, it's surprisingly stressful (in a great way) and a great fit for the theme.

bchan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:26am

The intermittent dialogue was my favorite. The pathos of the last living mole!

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:40am

I love the idea of playing the mole. It seemed a little difficult though, not a lot of strategy, just timing. It would be interesting to see this with several moles to more closely feel like playing on the wrong side of a game of whack-a-mole.

ruthiepee says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:36am

42 seconds for me... that's pretty bad, haha. Very challenging game, I like the concept! The simplicity of the graphics didn't really bother me since the gameplay was fast-paced.

ninjascript says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:23am

Nice twist on an old classic! I like the burrow effect.

luisfelipeart says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:59am

Loved this game, super addictive, I like the idea of health regenerating! I hope you continue to polish this game, it has a lot of potential

elefantopia says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:31am

The poor mole... I didn't get past the two hammers. Great game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]