Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Do Not Drown

by Jerick - Jam Entry

Controls:

arrow keys - move
shift - run
space - jump
z - close a leaking pipe (when near it)

Created by:
CiderSqueezy and Jerick(@d4gJerick)

Thanks to @DarkMeatGames for a free copy of the amazing Voxwell asset https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/#/content/14989

Free sounds used from freesound.org:

https://www.freesound.org/people/Robinhood76/sounds/93942/
https://www.freesound.org/people/Satoration/sounds/58265/
https://www.freesound.org/people/soundscalpel.com/sounds/110393/
https://www.freesound.org/people/nathanaelj83/sounds/145242/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#111Graphics(Jam)4.14
#210Theme(Jam)3.48
#258Overall(Jam)3.38
#272Mood(Jam)3.26
#299Innovation(Jam)3.17
#334Audio(Jam)3.15
#434Fun(Jam)2.90
#574Humor(Jam)2.04

Comments

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

Solid game. I did feel the need to fix those pipes ASAP, haha.

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:50am

The "Press the Button To Try And Not Die"-button does not work. :/

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55am

Awesome graphics, the game idea was solid, loved the time mechanic

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59am

Awesome game! My highest score was 164 seconds, very intense towards the end of the game. I'll say the warning siren got a little grating by the end but still great fun to play. Nice work! :)

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00am

Great idea. Works well

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:31am

Excellent job! Love the overall mood, graphics and sound. I drowned ;( but that's the most fun I've had drowning...

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49am

nice work

quade81 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:02am

That was fun. Visuals and audio are great too

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07am

Love it, great work!

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28am

The audio clicks well with the character movements. The perspective reminds me a little of the old oddworld games. It's really hot in my apartment right now and this game is making me feel a whole lot cooler. Great ambiance.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20am

I enjoyed the atmosphere, camera placement, and lighting/mood.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Very nice graphics (cool water effect). The lighting is also really well done. It became hectic really fast, which i enjoyed a lot!

May 1, 2014 @ 3:06am

Solid entry. I thought the graphics and sound where really good and I liked the take on the theme. It seemed like once it started flooding though it came too fast to stop.

Kara Jayde says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:11am

Nice, you have a great aesthetic and it's a lot of fun, but you're missing an element to create flow. At the moment it feels frustrating because there is no way out, it's how long can you avoid your inevitable death. You need an element that eases that feeling, and my suggestion would be a 'drain water' option. Maybe a grate with a lever on either side of the level, which you can use to drain the water in quick spurts (but you need to hold it, thus more pipes burst).

Still fun though ^_^

Jerick says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:48am

@kara Jayde - Great idea. There is actually a draining mechanic in place (water is always draining at a constant rate) but is overtaken by the flow relatively quickly, so it really only drains when not much is flowing. I think having an active drain could work nicely.

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:17am

Sadly there is no way not to drown. Nice visuals. Very polished game.

lowcade says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:25am

Good and Hard game, good graphics.
Is sad know you will die didn't matter what you do...

kevinAlbs says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Beautiful graphics! Very straightforward and a great example of quality over quantity.

wademcgillis says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:20pm

I have drowned.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]