Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nutrition

by jestar_jokin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a seedling, who must spread roots and absorb nutrients from the soil.
Use the arrow keys to navigate the plant's root.
Try to collect all of the nutrients.
Spacebar will reset the puzzle.
Click and drag with the mouse to see the whole playfield.
Yes, it is possible to finish. There may be more than one solution, but there's definitely at least one solution.

N = Nitrogen. Energy = 3, speed = 1.
K = Potassium. Energy = 2, speed = 2.
P = Phosphorus. Energy = 2, speed = 3.

For when you inevitably get stuck, the solution is available here:
http://www.jestarjokin.net/storage/ld29/solution.png

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#101Innovation3.88
#122Theme3.82
#328Overall3.42
#394Audio3.00
#517Fun3.06
#530Mood3.00
#621Graphics3.06
#901Humor1.94
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

Lucio says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Congrats! I keep coming back but still haven't found the solution.

jestar_jokin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52am

Thanks for playing! Sorry, it's way too hard; ideally there would be smaller puzzles leading up to this one, and a lot more hints and niceties in-game.

Anyway, start off on the same path as in the screenshot. Then, you want to tackle the top-left section, then bottom-left, then top-right, then bottom-right. Hope this helps!

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Very interesting concept.
As others said, perhaps with smaller introductory levels first, and hints, could be a very unique game. Great job!

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:12am

Nice one. Really enjoyed playing. It's very hard, but thats not bad. Maybe you could add a counter for collected nutrients later and a highscore.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Wow, super idea and really addictive. I didnt solve it, seems really hard but if you could make more levels with a more graduate difficulty that'd be great. You definitely have something here!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Brilliant idea! Very inspiring. Spawned a few nice ideas in my head. Great job!

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Pretty good! It's really hard, though.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Hard game, but concept is very innovative. Some hints would be helpful.

jadams says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Nice game. I've not beaten it yet, but have just seen your comment giving hints as to the solution so I'll take another stab at it. More levels, starting with something shorter would have been a nice addition.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Nice idea for a puzzle game, the puzzle is pretty hard. Don't know how good this idea is try to make a few more puzzles and see if they are any fun to solve.

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Interesting concept, still haven't finished it after many attempts lol.

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Wow, it took several tries to simply fail again, but it was a lot of fun to try and plan a few steps ahead! Very cool idea and good execution :)

May 7, 2014 @ 3:26am

Whoa! Hard puzzle! Nice moody background music.

I'd like to see more of this game. As has been said, a set of ramping difficulty levels (as a sort of tutorial) would make this really shine.

kevinAlbs says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:25am

This was really good. I played for a solid 20 minutes without finding a solution. This is really an awesome puzzle and the music is very fitting.

May 8, 2014 @ 5:50am

It's too hard. I tried for 15 minutes and I can't do it

romandtom says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Cool idea for a game, but you could improve it.
It didn't felt like I have a goal enough.
I felt like I just have to survive every turn but that I don't have a general goal.

burgerdare says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:58pm

this is a really neat puzzle game, I like the idea of it alot.
I should note, however, that passing over a nutrient without actually landing on it (very common when speed is above 1) you don't actually grab that nutrient and it gets locked out because you can't pass over your previous roots. This can be kind of frustrating.

jestar_jokin says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Thanks to all for playing my little game! This was my first Ludum Dare, and only my second or third game project, so it was a great learning experience. Would definitely have liked to add more polish.

I've posted the solution online for the curious.
http://www.jestarjokin.net/storage/ld29/solution.png

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]