Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Winter Is Coming . . .

by PixelFeet - Jam Entry

Here's PixelFeet's entry in the Jam. Our team consists of Joshua Jackson (Programmer), Zack Walsh ("Producer"), Matthew Carpenter (Graphics), and Jonathan Carpenter (Music).

The object of the game is to create the best tree you can in ten minutes using the resources you are given. Your tree will need to absorb sunlight with its leaves and water and nutrients with its roots in order to do this. After ten minutes, the game ends and you are provided with your final score. And it's pretty obvious how we've incorporated the theme. Have fun.

These are the tools we used:
IDE: FlashDevelop
Engine: HaxeFlixel
Graphics: Aseprite & GIMP
Sound: as3sfxr
Music: Studio One

Edit 1: Corrected typo. "Help!" now reads "Instructions!" on the main menu. Hopefully that'll clear up some confusion.
Edit 2: Switched primary screenshot to title image.
Edit 3: Fixed bug where players could earn extra points by stacking leaves.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Innovation(Jam)3.73
#109Theme(Jam)3.70
#339Overall(Jam)3.27
#401Fun(Jam)2.96
#489Audio(Jam)2.74
#501Mood(Jam)2.83
#624Humor(Jam)1.80
#657Graphics(Jam)2.53
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:59am

I like this one. You get a nice sense of progression, even if it feels slow at first

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:52am

Very original!

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55am

That was relaxing. Button to randomize new start would be nice addition.

CDK says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:35am

could have wanted an highscore list or something .. couldn't really compared my score to anything (got 103).. was an interesting gameplay though. but i think it went quite slow in the beginning making it somewhat boring :) but maybe make it be a bit faster at the start? maybe get 2 yellowballs pr. default.

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:16am

nice!

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:36am

Really nice gameplay. However, it does start off very slow and also ends very slow when you have gathered all the nutrients there are in the ground.
Got a score of 177.

broepi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Really good concept, I like that! Yay for the pixel graphics. Yay for the ingame music. the only thing that bothered me a bit is the resource distribution. sometimes it takes half the time to reach water.

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Surprisingly fun, although it's a bit slow at first if your nutrients are all blocked by water. Would be nice if there was a score you were aiming for, or if you were trying to stockpile a certain amount of nutrients/water by winter.

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:32pm

The game desperately needs a x2, x4, or even a x10 button with how slow it is. Still, it was an interesting take on the theme, just not a fun one to just sit and wait around for 10 minutes.

01010111 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Really interesting concept - I just wish it played a little bit faster :) I also couldn't tell when I could place wood or leaves, which really just led to frustration by always clicking and waiting.

PixelFeet says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:35am

Thanks for all the feedback so far! It's pretty great, especially since this is our first non-practice game ever, much less our first Ludum Dare entry.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:48am

I liked this. 241 was my score.

sorceress says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:42pm

score 254. Nice once it gets going, but it's very slow paced for the first 5 minutes. I ran out of nutrients at the end as you did. The amount of nutrients randomly generated at the beginning seems to determine the ending.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Simple but entertaining game! Had to F5 a couple of time to get a good start.

Sodaware says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:11pm

As others have said, it's very slow to get started, especially if the nutrients are a long way from the start. A speed-up time option might work well, or maybe starting with more resources to help build the initial tree.

It's a great concept though, and I think with a bit of polish and balancing it could be really fun!

petey123567 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:07am

Love the game, just wish the clock was faster.

drnick says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:41am

Very good concept. In a game like Minecraft you spend so much time chopping blocks from the trees, in this game you get to see the other side of the coin. Some comments:
1) For a jam game, the graphics are poor.
2) There could be more ambient sound, like in the menu.
3) The game is a little short, and often at the end all the nutrients disappeared and you are left with nothing to do.
4) On how to generate better levels/maps/soil: search on Perlin noise and it's applications in content generation.

Raiyumi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:55am

I really like this concept. I played it a lot longer than I thought I would.

Muciojad says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:09am

One of most original idea I see so far. But is there one bad thing for me - I was very irritated when I had to wait a while to place next tile, but without this - it's quite nice game ;)I like simple art style.

Skipi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:53am

Reminds me of my entry quite a bit.

I found it mildly frustrating how quickly the ground blocks disappeared, and how long I had to wait if I ran out.


Other than that, it's a neat idea.

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Really cool idea!

klianc09 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:18pm

This really needs a speedup button and some balancing, but when you polish this up, it could make for a really cool resource management game.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Fairly enjoyable, if a bit slow. None of my structures even remotely resembled trees, though.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Pretty cool idea. Gameplay is a bit slow though. Graphics are pretty basic but they do the job. Nice job!

jujule says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:29pm

A really interesting take on the theme. Graphics are ok. I wish the bird was singing during the game also, as it is super relaxing.
As others have said early game (and early game only, in my opinion) needs to be a bit faster. That could also be twicked with having the nutritiant/water distribution less random.
A really refreshing entry. Keep working on it. It's good but there is tones of space to add content and elaborate gameplay.

Kimau says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Really enjoyed this!! My kingdom for a fast forward button when I'm resource locked! Also it would have been nice if you had separated the game numbers from those on screen instead of one big update tick. You get tick over anxiety (terrible term I know) and it would be a really nice UX change.

Adrian says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:56am

Interesting concept. It's basically an optimization game, which is fun at first but can get boring very fast. This one I haven't get bored of yet, but I haven't played much. :)

Good job overall, I enjoyed it!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]