Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deeper

by shasharala - Jam Entry

This game is not finished. There are dead-ends and the story is hardly fleshed out.

The original intention behind this game was to explore death and look deeper into the player's surrounding reality through a metaphysical perspective. As the player died more they would gain the ability to interact with more and more of the environment. By going deeper into the makeup of objects the player would be able to compose reality to their liking, by opening passageways, creating light where there is none, and more.

Unfortunately, since I was not familiar with my development tools, I spent a lot of time researching them instead of actually making a game. Next Ludum Dare I intend to do more and take everything I have learned and everything I will learn in the coming months to make something even better.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#435Mood(Jam)2.96
#517Theme(Jam)2.85
#585Innovation(Jam)2.56
#713Fun(Jam)2.12
#739Overall(Jam)2.24
#760Graphics(Jam)1.75

Comments

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:39am

Congrats on completing your first LD Jam! For the most part this is a good start. I find myself kind of wanting more story text, curious where this game is going.

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:52am

Interesting game, it's nice to have a story to go with the game. Nice attempt at your first LD jam!

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Congrats at your first LD! It seemed to go nowhere after I clicked "continue forward". Shame!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Was written well!

Jed T. says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:17am

So excited to get this done :) Let us know when you get to finish it. Nice try!

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:23am

Nice job with the in text links, got stuck looking into the darkness though :)

shasharala says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:40am

Thank you. All of you. There is a lot more work to do on the game, especially since some routes lead to a dead-end currently and it is obviously not finished, but the warmth in your responses is very appreciated.

May 1, 2014 @ 9:41am

This could be a really good game if you finish it! I know I want more! :)

Ellian says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:43am

Hah, that simple idea of clicking on parts of the text is good, and your initial intentions/concept is interesting. Hope you'll go further with this!

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Nice first try!

hanoth says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Keep going on this. I don't want to be stuck peering into the darkness for all eternity.

noom says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:08am

Have to agree with everyone else here, was left wanting more.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]