Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Biolab1

by Potartz - Jam Entry

Biolab1 is a relaxation game in which the player may inject viruses into the subject's bloodstream and guide them toward cells to infect. There are eight naturally occurring strains each with three variants. Be sure to read the README file. I programmed the game and made the visuals, all audio was made by my team mate.

//Word of warning: super grey viruses duplicate at an insane rate, be sure to clear them with middle mouse if your machine complains.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2022Coolness20%

Comments

Lissar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:08am

Hello! When I downloaded the game it said that there was nothing in the archive.

Potartz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Hm. Something's indeed wrong with the file. I'll try uploading a .EXE instead.

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Thats a really nice idea and the first beneath the human surface game ive seen so far. Great audio and visuals!

Potartz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Thank you! I'll be sure to give Britt the good news!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:13am

I have got error when I created a lot of viruses
http://yadi.sk/d/_lAuxtguNi2wf

Marjie62 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:58am

Very nice graphics and sound! Also an impressive amount of content. The game was complex enough to keep me learning rules and progressively understanding what I was doing more and more, which was neat. Them biggest shortcoming is that it was a bit lacking in goals. I also saw the issue where a whole bunch of viruses suddenly spawned and then lagged up the whole thing until I had to quit

May 1, 2014 @ 4:04am

muy muy bueno lo único que le falta es tener un puntare niveles

Muciojad says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:46am

Good game for relaxation, I spent with it a few very good minutes ;) But I had some problems with understand rules but finally I get it ;) Nice :]

phi says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:36pm

At one point I also got the bug where viruses spawned repeatedly and the framerate dropped. It's a great idea, and the random mutations add so much to the fun of controlling the viruses. I loved it, but you could probably do some more balancing.
I would love to see this developed further!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]