Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Giant worm infestation

by asteryz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There is a bug in the level generator, if the game does not start loading, please refresh the page.

This is a top down shooter with random generated levels, the idea was that as you explore the dungeon you go deeper and find more hostile monsters.

This is my first entry for ludum dare ever, I did a lot of new things during this jam. This was the first time I created game art, game music and level generator.

Tools & Libraries:
Quintus' Library, as javascript game engine (http://html5quintus.com)
Bosca Ceoil, to create the theme.
Inkscape and Paint.net for the art.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#442Audio2.94
#780Fun2.76
#788Overall2.94
#807Graphics2.78
#927Theme2.76
#1083Innovation2.29
#1930Coolness26%

Comments

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:01am

Brutal soundtrack!! :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51am

Good job on the random generation, that can sometimes be a big thing to take on in 48 hours. The music was catchy, I liked it. Great job! :)

rnlf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

The music is great. The game itself... hard to tell. Didnt really get harder until I couldn't shoot anymore.

Anti says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49pm

I liked the music and the game was a pretty fun. Nice work on the random generation. Good Job!

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Not bad. Great music and easy to control. The dungeon generation was not terrible but I think it could use a little more work. A few times I spawned in a pretty small section with just a few (or zero) worms, and once I spawned outside with no apparent way to get in.

guscost says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:31am

Fun, and nice music! It needs some shoot/attack sound effects.

barkergames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:36am

I started in a room with no way out :(

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Nice music, fitted well. fun game! good job with the random level generation.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:54am

So much lag for me, maybe just my computer?
It's from the stone age and I start it with a crank.

SlipperyPete says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:09am

The music WAS SO FREAKING BAD, also the fact I couldn't mute it because my com's glitched, BTW I spawned outside the world & had to find a broken wall to get in,

NuSan says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:55am

Good entry, i like random generation in games. The only thing missing is an end. Keep up the good work.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]