Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Uncle Jack's Knick Knack Shack

by rlangewi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: Fixed a small, rare bug about 20 minutes after the deadline.

UPDATED LINKS, NO BAD LINK AS MENTIONED IN COMMENTS.

Use your metal detector to find treasures, then dig them up to sell in your store! Be careful of all the danger that comes with the territory, but also make sure you keep your store stocked so that the customers are happy!

Earn more money for having a larger inventory when a customer buys an item!

Earn more money for depositing more items to your store at once!

Earn more money for finding more treasures in one breath!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#50Fun3.88
#50Audio3.84
#77Theme3.91
#127Overall3.74
#220Humor3.07
#221Innovation3.56
#298Mood3.31
#467Graphics3.29

Comments

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11am

The first link had a downloader that tried to install various pieces of adware about 5 or 6 different times... please use something like dropbox!

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13am

Fairly solid game. The controls are a bit hard to get used to, but it can get pretty addictive. You should probably experiment with porting this game to Android if you plan on continuing it...

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14am

Ha ha! Great minds... I went with metal detectin' too - but nothing like your take: wish I had have thought of selling the goods... adds an extra dimension.

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14am

This game should be in a standup in an arcade somewhere. I'd dump quarters into this for days.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14am

Yeah the first link is bad news... AVG found a few trojans in it.

rlangewi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:39am

Sorry guys, I will update it with a dropbox link!

loggs2 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03am

Uncle Jack is the man! The game was a blast to play!

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:12am

Great game! I like everything about it! The only thing i would change is to make Uncle Jack have a few hearts so we don't have to start over just from one hit.

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:24am

Great game but I agree with deathray, more lives would be great since there's a lot of ways to die.

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42am

Pretty fun. There was a lot of text in the help screen, but after reading the controls and experimenting I think most of it made sense.

rlangewi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Thanks! The help screen was the one thing I had to cram at the end and so I didn't really get to implement it how I wanted to. Once the jam and everything is over, I am planning on making more of a tutorial instead of just text. As for the lives, I felt that high score games tend to be more addictive if the runs are relatively quick to encourage trying again. That may just be a personal preference though.

Miltage says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:45am

Great game, the digging mechanic is fantastic. I feel like the game could use some balancing though.

There is too much ground to cover, too little treasure to find or too short of breath to find it in. Fixing one of those things would make the game easier to manage at the beginning, then you could ramp up difficulty by making the new lands a larger size, thus decreasing your chance of finding treasure. It seemed every time I'd have unhappy customers because I had a hard time stumbling upon treasure. The ants revealing treasure is a cool feature though.

Also, I think you might have gone a bit heavy with the surface hazards. Trying to get back to my shack while dodging a dozen tumbleweeds is more challenging than one might think.

Overall, a great entry, with a solid execution. Well done!

Dominator_101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Nice! I like it!

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Great game!

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:13pm

I kept dying for no reason (small rock impossible to see ?). Otherwise I love the controls, the art style and concept.

rlangewi says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:12pm

@tomvert Perhaps you were suffocating because your breath meter at the top was running out? Thanks!

phi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:39pm

This is fun. There are many features and a lot of different stuff to do, but it's all very comprehensible. Maybe it's a little too difficult at first, and the fact that it's all over when you die is a tiny bit frustrating. Nice, polished game with simple but great graphics and audio. Well done, Sir.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Amazing game! Loved it! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare compilation video if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-vf2U372Ego

Chris Mondok says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:19pm

This game is really cool. Neat mechanic, solid movement / feel, moves at a good pace, kickin' music. If I had to pick on something, I'd say that it's a little too unforgiving. Great game!

rojo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:32am

Good music, and a great concept. I felt like the controls were maybe a little hairy compared to what I'm used to. Also the one hit death was pretty brutal.

elefantopia says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Cute fun game! Definitely a challenge with all the obstacles = instant death.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]