Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Beneath

by SuperIzzo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD control the fish school (you control all of the fish within an area simultaneously).
The objectives of the game is to find and collect as many fish as possible, while avoiding predators (sharks and jellyfish). You have to finish the level with at least one fish.

Tip: If the fish get too far apart from one another try not to move, they will eventually come close.

This is my first Ludum Date participation. I wasn't sure if I wanted to be in until the last moment, but I'm glad I entered.

Tools:
Engine: GameMaker: Studio
Graphics - GIMP, MyPaint
Music - LMMS, MGII (http://www.nici.kun.nl/~povel/Melody/index.html)
Fonts: Merit (http://www.dafont.com/merit.font?l[]=10&l[]=1), Robin (http://www.dafont.com/robin.font?l[]=10&l[]=1)

EDIT: Added a Linux "port" (wine setup scripts).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#101Graphics4.00
#112Theme3.84
#147Innovation3.72
#157Mood3.59
#304Audio3.16
#398Overall3.33
#629Fun2.94
#849Humor2.00

Comments

Serk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16am

Good concept, and great graphics! Controls had too much inertia for my taste, though

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:18am

I love it!
the "group control" is a cool idea. Graphics +5

dlweatherhead says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:19am

I particularly like the mechanism of controlling a school of little fishies. Very cool. Controls were a little slow, kinda like there was input lag. Good luck for the comp!

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:01am

I liked the dramatic feel of the world, and controlling a growing/shrinking group of fish is a neat idea! Controls could be a little more reactive though. Still, good job!

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:11am

Neat idea! The game had really cool atmosphere (the music really helped). I'm not a huge fan of the way the controls move, but I like how you control the group together. Cool game!

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55am

Thanks guys. I really appreciate your feedback :)
I agree that I should have spent some more time on the controls and I'll take it into account when I'm remaking the game.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15pm

A lot of water games in this LD, but this was one of the best ones yet!

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Beautiful and I like the idea that you can control many fish.

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Good mood; very darky. I also think the controls had too much inertia. It was really difficult not to crash into sea fauna.

Stuffie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Really nice atmosphere, as other have said controls seemed a little soft, I guess it gives that underwater feeling but might have been nice if they were a little more responsive. Great idea and mood overall though :).

emanuil says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:26pm

I actually like the controls, they add to the patience factor needed to play the game. I like the break from the very twitchy playing style. Probably best fit for a different audience though, and maybe worth introducing an option for the "softness" of the controls (if you keep the project up after the competition). Very nice however, liked it.

MSaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

I lost all my fish mate, i did the "I'm a sharp" things and i won. I appreciate the time I spend on it, great game. I will try to save all the fish !

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Nice idea, I like the lag in control as it adds to the water feel. good work!

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Awesome job! It looks and sounds great. One thing that bothered me with the controls was that you would begin controlling fish nowhere near your school and then the camera would get split between the school and the single fish on the other side of a wall making it easy to run into obstacles. Awesome job otherwise!

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Controls seemed a bit slow, but the game was interesting and fun to play!

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Sweet little game :) Very atmospheric, but the controls felt a little sluggish. Perhaps if a button could make the fish huddle together?

Lrnk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Such a good concept! I got 4 out of 13 fish, which is pretty pathetic. Nice atmosphere too.

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:13pm

@dook : Yeah, they should be grouping together a little faster, shouldn't they.
@Zephyr : Ah! You've noticed it :) The school ownership system is anything but perfect. I know how to make it better, but that will be in the future.

Thanks again to everyone for your comments.
On the topic of the controls; I want to keep the underwater feel so I will speed them up only slightly, but I will probably add a speed button which makes them move times faster. That would simulate the behaviour of fish a little more accurately.. they are swimming slowly, eating seaweed, minding their own business then a predator shows up and suddenly they is a hurricane of swift fish rushing for their lives (and there will be what to rush for when sharks become smarter and start smelling blood). I welcome any suggestion so feel free to share any though.

Btw, if anyone's curious about the concept and wants to find out more, here is where it comes from:
http://www.red3d.com/cwr/boids/

Snoother says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Graphics and mood are great. I agree that the control are a bit too slow, and I would have kind of liked more responsive enemies. But it was could fun and an interesting entry.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:34am

Haha, 2/13 fish ._.

Group control is neat, since each individual fish is like its own hitpoint. At the same time as one wants to keep as many fish as possible, in this game the more fish you lose the easier it is to play...

The apparently charcoal graphics worked well, as did the music. If I had any recommendation to make, it would be to try to work on game balance so that there are fewer stationary enemies, i.e. make it slightly more active. As-is it was a certain kind of exciting to squeak past a shark and wonder if I had managed to move the group in time, or if they were going to be eaten. The time gap made it feel like their safety was both in, and out, of my hands.

Great entry for your first jam! Hope to see you next time.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:06am

very cool idea for controls - a little difficult in some of those tight corners - nice job

CMaster says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Controls are a bit "floaty" made extra difficult that when you add a new fish to your school, it doesn't have the momentum of the existing fish, so goes shooting off in teh opposite direction often.

Nice innovate take on things though, good work.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]