Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

50 Shades of Ray

by crustforever - Jam Entry

Help momma manta reach the surface and give birth to her sweet baby rays!

Each ray collected increases score, but also increases speed.

SPACEBAR RELOADS THE LEVEL ON DEATH!!!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#534Theme(Jam)2.81
#551Graphics(Jam)2.88
#633Overall(Jam)2.71
#662Fun(Jam)2.31
#682Innovation(Jam)2.25
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:54am

Flappy Bird takes on manta sex! (And I am not very good at either of these things, it appears. Fun and well-made, though.)

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:04am

Looked very nice, and functional, but way too hard. I played for like 10 minutes and couldn't get past the first level (which is really short)

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:06am

Holy cow this is hard!

Wertle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17am

Ah, the risk-reward of ray reproduction!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19am

Assisting a manta with pregnancy should be a national duty, on par with assisting the elderly to cross the street, and enlisting schools to make paper hats for the homeless. I consider this game to be an educational service to the community on par with 'Ronald Reagan - Speaks Out Against Socialized Medicine.' Excellent work.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:31am

Just the title is enough for me!

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44am

Very nice take on that genre! I liked the idea that you reward risk takers! And I loved that graphical style, reminded me of the games I used to play as a kid!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:35am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

I managed to complete the first stage after a lot of tries, but I couldn't quite figure out how to advance to the next level--was there one?

Overall, it's a cute name with nice graphics and pretty smooth play. However, needing to restart so many times was frustrating, and I found that I tended to avoid the powerups for maneuverability, since the game was uncompleteable otherwise. It'd be nice to see some longer levels.

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

The speed gains from the mantas make the game extremely difficult.

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Really really hard game, but with patience it is possible, got all 3 mantas on level 2 and I'm very happy with that. Good simple game!

Junber says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Link says "File was deleted from server."

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:39pm

File was deleted :(

crustforever says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:42am

New download mirror! Sorry for anyone whose soul was crushed

crustforever says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:43am

And thanks for playing and all the comments!

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Couldn't even get past the first little part. Way too hard. The area to pass through is impossibly small. No idea how much more game there is, but I saw the same 400 pixels for 5 minutes.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]