Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Moles Tale

by mattpattie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

1st ever game :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#112Humor3.43
#322Fun3.31
#495Overall3.24
#517Theme3.31
#655Mood2.89
#745Graphics2.86
#1107Innovation2.24
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Well pretty impresive to be first game ever.
I like the mole xD

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Pretty cool game. Controls are kinda hard, but fun overall. Pretty funny too.

I like the mole concept ;)

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Typical moles. Running around getting swallowed by lava all the time.

Really impressive for your first game =)

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Lots of little issues with this, although the experience as a whole is pretty solid.

-The shaky player sprite does a terrible job of conveying where your hitbox is and it makes platforming difficult.
-There should be a pause between death and respawn to prevent players from immediately running into lava on their next life.
-Camera is too basic to accomodate your level design. Most obstacles are impossible to prepare for, especially on maps that are zoomed in quite far.
-The inconsistent room connections made the game extremely confusing. I'm not sure if you were going for a "maze" element, but it's very confusing when entering a door takes you to a room you just left.

The little joke at the end was pretty funny at least and I didn't run into any bugs, but the game needs a lot of improvement.

vogon101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Well, it was great for a first game but maybe try to make it less derpy next time

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Hillarious, I died so many times! Talk about a steep difficulty progression ;)

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37pm

I Demand a Death counter! This game is pretty fun yet hard and infuriating!

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Humorous with happy ending :)

Bashosha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39pm

good work!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Cute ending, game is challenging, too bad there is no music.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Impressive for your first game! I'm quite charmed by the way the mole is animated, a little music would make it even better though. The jumppad-part was quite difficult, but overall i enjoyed playing!

anvoz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Challenging but really fun to play. I almost quit on the 3rd room. The ending is hilarious.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:30am

Very good for a first game! I liked the animations.

May 1, 2014 @ 3:37am

I like the graphics. The platforming elements where a little frustrating at times and the layout seemed basically random.
Good attempt, keep trying!

Nezzhil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Your first game? NICE.

May 4, 2014 @ 8:43am

Nice jump'n'run!

Love the animations and the texts.

Difficulty spikes pretty early though, and I'm not concinced by the use of standard-unity-blue in the background ;P

Chronoberry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Love the level 0 intro and the story text as a part of the background!

Masadow says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Controls are hard, but graphics are cool !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]