Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Feelin N Dealin

by mclewis - Jam Entry

DESCRIPTION----

You play as a middle aged man who makes his home in the sewers. The police lock down the streets while
rats, garbage dwelling homeless, and the occasional stray alligator haunt your paths through the underground.
Your friend "The Dealer" sells you items to help you survive and has you deliver "product" to the wealthy kiddies
up top to turn a profit. If you can make it to the sale without dying or getting locked in the slammer along the way;
take your capital gains over to the thrift store for everything necessary to "pimp yo crib."

Tip----------
Make sure to buy and a safe and deposit money it in to prevent resets!

Credits-------

Programming - Brendan Murphy (McLewis)
Art and Design - Marshall Pelissier (Mipo)

P.S. don't tell our moms we made this...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#183Theme(Jam)3.53
#200Humor(Jam)3.04
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#450Graphics(Jam)3.18
#461Innovation(Jam)2.79
#543Overall(Jam)2.91
#581Audio(Jam)2.34
#589Fun(Jam)2.53

Comments

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:53am

Them Hobos are fierce

moonmagic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:57am

I enjoyed the drone song and the sweet promise of the streets above, but I was stymied by the Super Fast Police after I ran out of smoke bombs. I tried hitting the Police with a pipe but this ended in Jail. I wish I always had a pipe. I like how there are different items to use to circumvent different situations. However I despaired of ever owning tv or bikini poster.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:35am

heh, this is pretty good. only thing is i would maybe flesh out the music a bit.

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:56am

A challenging game that conveys the dystopian setting perfectly. The police are out in force, locking down the city, but what choice do the police have when the hobos around town can kill a person with a single touch?

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:27am

Very 8bit sinister. Collision on corners was a little unforgiving when jumping. Gotto love a game that includes thrift stores!

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31am

Starting all over again every time was annoying, since the dealer and other things are far away. The objectives and controls could be a bit more clear with some explanation. The pixel art's cool, though.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40am

Wow, bleak stuff. Although the gameplay wasn't anything spectacular, it somehow kept me playing for a long time. Cool entry!

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:42am

I didn't understand how to sell the drugs to the rich kids. Do I have to press a special key.

The game is a bit too hard for me.

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48pm

@DanEEStar Each time you buy drugs you must sell them to a randomly assigned group of children, not just any group you find. The arrow will lead you to the correct group and no button press is necessary to sell the drugs. This definitely could have been made more clear.

FGM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Yeah, I had to try to figure out the controls. Challenging as a platformer, but dying pretty much means you have to restart completely. There's a weird glitch where rat traps don't disappear though.

klianc09 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

This concept seemed so promising, but I just can't enjoy it. The character moves really slow compared to the size of the world, and running back and forth the same way again and again gets kinda tiresome. AND THEN you die and have to walk the whole way again...
The resource management aspect of this game is great, and I would have loved to finish the game or 'pimp my crib' but I simply can't put up the motivation to do this after dying several times.

pkenney says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:58am

This was a really cool idea for the theme, and along with the music and art made the mood come together.

I did get tired of walking places, though, which extra-hurt when I died. Maybe if the guy were increased in speed something like 60% faster?

elefantopia says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:41am

Fun to play, but the controls were a bit awkward.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]