Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bubble Cannon

by Acuity - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is about a ship armed with a bubble cannon trying to collect artifacts.

Hold Z to charge your bubble cannon, and release to shoot!
Left and Right to move your ship.

Much of my time was spent learning how to use flash and learning how the APIs in flashpunk worked. Music was written in 1.5 hours or so in FL Studio 10, from around 3-4 pm PST today. Sfx was done in around an hour after that.

Edit: I forgot to include a link to sourcecode.

Also, music uploaded to my SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/acuitynpc/bubble-cannon

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#179Audio3.43
#450Fun3.13
#555Innovation3.07
#996Theme2.62
#1028Humor1.65
#1060Overall2.63
#1146Mood2.14
#1217Graphics1.87

Comments

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:58am

You have a solid mechanic here, I kept playing for a while despite the lack of metrics or any real goal. Good job!

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:33am

Nice mechanics, but a little too slow.

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:34am

There is no end/losing condition, not even score. But it's pretty addicting, I have to say.

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:37am

This is a really simple entry - but despite that I played it for quite a lot longer than I thought I would. The mechanic is just brilliant, possibly the funnest mechanic I have ever seen in an LD submission. Really solid job here! Now, just make it into a game and I would be thrilled to play it :D

Acuity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Thanks for the feedback! I haven't learned how to make menus or a separate screen yet, so I didn't put in a win/lose condition...

I'll work on making my future games much more game-like! :D

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Is there a goal?

dusho says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34pm

interesting gameplay mechanics, quite fun
really loud music, missing some obstacles, score, something..

oranebeast says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:35am

Fun but, It just didn't seem compleeted

petey123567 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:37am

A solid star - get some hazards in there and there will be real tension!

Lancelot Gao says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:09am

Find the control is hard to master, but the game mechanics is fun!

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:18am

Suprisingly fun! You have an entertaining mechanic her, but the game could use better graphics and a possibility to win or fail. I hope you will work on a post-portem vesrion.:)

petrih says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:36am

Great music!

Pitzik4 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:31am

There is no way any other games have been submitted this LD with music this good. And the charging sound actually harmonizes with it. I would rate this 10/5 in Audio if I could.
Game-wise, it's unremarkable, but addicting. But, man, I'm going to go download the music from SoundCloud! How can this even be Ludum Dare music?

Acuity says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:22am

Thanks for the comments and feedback! For another entry with awesome music, check out Ripple Runner by DDRKirby(ISQ)!

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:56pm

The lack of actual goals hurts this game a little bit, but the sheer fun of the gameplay and the brilliant music bring this up.

Bubbles bounce off of bubbles with other stuff in them, but I think it would be more interesting if the bubbles bounced off of each other even when they're empty.

May 6, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Nice music!

matt_j says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Nice music and sound. Game needs some work, though.

woodenrabbit says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:48am

What a cool game mechanic for the bubble cannon. Its really fun, feels like a real life toy but in video game form.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]