Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ripple

by saiato - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: WASD + mouse. Shift to run. Space to jump.

Everything around us has a story behind it, but in our daily lives we tend to take things at face value. Ripple is an experiment in exploring what's beneath the surface of our surroundings.

Walk around and enjoy :)

Libraries:
iTween http://itween.pixelplacement.com/
Drifter Controller http://torahhorse.com/first-person-drifter-controller-for-unity3d

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#123Mood3.70
#276Graphics3.62
#329Audio3.12
#613Innovation2.97
#640Overall3.10
#723Theme3.07
#820Humor2.06
#947Fun2.55

Comments

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18am

Excellent concept, and a nice refreshing break after LD29. A few collision issues and I fell out of the world once, but that's fine since it's an LD.

WetDesertRock says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19am

I'm not sure the game was displaying properly. I could use the arrow keys to slowly pan the screen, and the mouse would quickly pan it. Nothing would get revealed when I panned with the mouse.

Is this how I'm supposed to see it?

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48am

You walk forward by pressing w and hold shift to run. If you feel like you're not moving, it's probably because the flag in the beginning is a bit far away.

Kara Jayde says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

Pretty trippy, I liked the concept heaps, but if it had been longer and more difficult to figure out where to go/peer beneath it could have been more thought provoking. Some collision issues, but I did like the simple poly models. Pretty cool ^_^

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:53am

Nice graphics and atmospheric level. The start reminded me of a horror game, though I forget the name, one where start in the snow and find the entrance to a strange underground area. In your game it turned out you go through the world into another world underneath. :P I'm not sure if there was a goal or a reason not to run all the time, but I made it to the house at the end, and saw a black screen afterwards when music started playing.

hampa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17am

Cool atmosphere, made it to the end. Nice a simple.

Pheonise says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:10am

The way the scenes transition was something I've never seen before; was really neat! The atmosphere was good, but audio throughout could have helped sell it more, rather than just at the end (unless that was a glitch on my end?)
Good job overall though!

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:07am

There's ambient audio throughout most of the game. It's subtle, so make sure your sound is up! :)

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:50pm

I went through a range of emotions while playing this, which was really cool. The song at the end is the bees knees.

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Great feel!

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39pm

I got stuck at the beach - I assume the letter box was meant to take me to the next location? But nice up to there; great atmosphere and audio.

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Nice ... but short and a bit strange

saiato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:05am

@Nition - Not a bug... you have to be a little more curious ;)

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:35am

Really cool! I like the transition effect a lot. This was a great, atmospheric game. I wish it was longer!

The web version didn't work on my machine, and when I played the game on any graphics setting above "fast" it also didn't work.

bluberry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Very well done! Entrancing atmosphere. This game gave me a range of feels. I like the ambiguous narrative and the select transitional items you chose.

angelk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:40am

I like the environments and background sounds, and transitions between locations. I noticed that when I click in the web player, the game just freezes and I have to start over.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:15am

love it - too short - great job

lowcade says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:18am

Great!
Diferente and curious.
Very Intriguing, but I didn't understand what happens and what is the end...

DonovanWu says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:47am

The audio is great. And hence it kind of reminds me of a game called "9.03m" actually... I guess this game can be further developed in some way similar to that one?

Maniulo says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Wow, that was surreal. Would've loved to play more, it's a pity the game is so short.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]