Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

ARKEYNOID

by mint - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as the person behind the scenes of a game of breakout, trying to bounce back the balls to the player's paddle.They can follow a single ball pretty easy but they don't have a very good time following a lot of them!

Hit keys to knock the ball(s) back at the paddle.
You lose if all balls get past the blocks, you win if 3 balls pass the paddle!

A game by mint - @mintchipleaf
(Uses Splat game engine from github.com/ericlathrop/splat)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#45Innovation4.08
#745Graphics2.86
#849Humor2.00
#942Fun2.56
#961Overall2.75
#1107Mood2.27
#1171Theme2.15
#2134Coolness10%

Comments

alvarop says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Looks like a cool concept but I don't really know what I had to do. I won by randomly pressing keys... which is not good. Care to explain?

michelfontes says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:14am

That's when I find out that I can't type without looking at the keyboard! Very frustrating ('caue I suck at it). For those who master typing, it's a great and fun challenge. I tried several times, though.

mjrevel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:01am

Enjoyed the game! Made me question how well I really knew the keyboard layout.

Loneshark says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:44am

This would be cool as a 2-player game =)

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:36am

Great idea, but a really really hard game! Seems like I don't know my keybord that good afrerall.:)

GamerTaters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:45am

Interesting twist on an old classic. Tough game.

petey123567 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:48am

Great idea! Just needs some bleeps and bloops to really shine!

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:40am

Great idea!

607 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:12am

Nice concept. When I tried my best to win by just playing I could not succeed though, while by mashing random keys I did. I don't think that's a good thing. It's also too bad that there isn't any sounds or music (at least for me)

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:49am

Great idea! It's a pity that, depending on your keyboard layout, the game can become a bit confusing and hard to play.

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Neat concept, but I found it super hard to play, and a bit confusing to understand what I was supposed to do.

fakeyou says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Nice idea but I think it's very difficult with multiple balls

v3games says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Very nice entry!

May 2, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Not sure I see the connection to the theme of the jam, but it is an interesting and new game idea.

May 2, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Love the concept. This is one great game you made here!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:33pm

I like the idea. Great! Reminds me keyboard solo or similar trainer from the childhood.

tenpn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Nice idea, although a bit short. The '/' key is a shortcut for type-ahead-find in firefox and so this block was unavailable to me.

zdonkeyx says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:53pm

This game was challenging. I had a rough time trying to beat it but I thought it was pretty interesting. Apparently I suck at typing.

Raiyumi says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:12am

Really nice concept and super tough! I just wish there was more polish and sounds. :)

namuol says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:49am

Cool take on the action-typing genre!

It's a bit too difficult at first; I'd definitely start by only keeping one ball on the screen for a while, and slow things down a bit; then, gradually speed things up and eventually introduce an extra ball every so often.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]