Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Sun And Moon

by Managore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[CONTROLS]

> A+D/Left+Right: move left and right
> W/Up/Spacebar: jump
> L.Shift/R.Shift/Z: action
> Esc: exit to level select/exit to title screen/exit game
> R: restart level
> M: mute/unmute audio

[HELP]

> To beat level 1, collect all three Shinies, then jump into the wormhole.
> To beat level 2, you must use the action button. By holding down the action button, you can enter solid objects such as the walls and floor. While inside solid objects, gravity is reversed and you will "fall" upwards.
> To beat level 16, the exit is to the left.
> To skip a level, press Esc and choose the next level on the level select screen.

[ABOUT]

This is my second Ludum Dare and once again it was a fantastic experience. The Sun And Moon was made in 24 hours using GameMaker: Studio, Photoshop CS6, FL Studio and Bfxr. Please let me know what you think and thank you for checking out my game!

I'm currently working on a post-compo version with many more levels and features including controller support, proper full screen support, way better audio and best times for each level with bronze, silver and gold goals. For updates on how it's going please check out my website and twitter.

Postmortem: ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/04/the-sun-and-moon-post-mortem/
Interview: csanyk.com/2014/05/interview-daniel-linssen/

Made by: Daniel Linssen
Website: managore.wordpress.com/games/
Twitter: @managore

Coming soon on Steam: store.steampowered.com/app/321560

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme4.32
Coolness100%
Overall4.61
Fun4.51
Innovation4.51
#45Graphics4.30
#58Mood3.91
#157Audio3.48
#550Humor2.44

Comments

KillerkoUK says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:48am

interesting take on the theme, very 'luftrauser'sque-graphics :) and very nice 30 puzzles.. this took some time to complete but I managed to finish them all!

good job on this one!

SojaBird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42am

Well this gameplay is worth exploring more! Make it a full release!

frankbsad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27am

wowzers

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:26am

I'm playing only playing games of worms, and your is the best in that category so far! Great Work!

xerohuang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Really fun! It's creative. And a bit hard, but I love it!

csanyk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55pm

This was a great game, very polished and well done, innovative, and fun. You really have a knack for 2D platformers with interesting mechanics.

burgerdare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:31pm

wow. Simply wow. The physics feel incredible and extremely unique. I blew through half the puzzles in one go before getting stumped on level 15 (I have no idea where the exit portal is) but I'm leaving this on my hard drive to come back to and finish later, because it's just too cool.

omgnoseat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:35am

Loved this, very good job sir.

csanyk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:38am

I liked how the music turned out! Great game, it was fun to watch your progress as you were working on it:)

tchem says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:10am

art!!!!!!,,, i loved it, all,,,,, the game have a great immersion and atmosphere,,,,the pallete colour is fantastic.. great job !!

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:18am

The graphics were great, the mechanic was great, the controls were great. All in all, pretty great. And a bunch of levels too.

MiscEtc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:18am

Interesting idea, great graphic, and a just plain good game.

aneeslol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:44am

Well, this one's perfect in my book.

alvarop says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:05am

Wow, this game was really good. My favorite one so far! As SojaBird said : this gameplay is worth exploring more!

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:12am

The good:
It's fun as hell, super polished, looks beautiful. All in 24 hours. Nicely done, definitely one of the better LD games I've ever played.

I would really like to see it turned into some kind of open-world exploration game, or given a time trial mode. Totally opposite directions I know, but they both sound fun. Just swimming around in the wide-open levels was hella fun.

The bad:
Music is incredibly repetitive and annoying, SFX are loud and grating. Everything else is great.

Running commentary:
L8 is lovely, lots of wide open spaces to just explore and just have fun with some real momentum.
L12 was less impressive, didn't feel like the jumps strung together well.
L14 was good, feels the most skillful so far (vs being easy or just memorization).
Same w/ 15... damn that was actually kinda hard to get all the collectables.
16... kind of an annoying level, feels more luck based.
17... too easy, basically the same as the one where you have to weave up/down but less fun.
18 - like the concept and it was fun, but I think your controls are a little slippery for it
19 - quality
20 - like 12, I feel this one is close to being good but not there. For instance, if the rightmost platform was moved 1 tile to the left, you could jump straight into it from leaping into the cube on at the same height from the platform below. That would be easier than how it is, which maybe you don't want, but it would also flow a lot better, and there are other ways to make it hard.
21 - like this one - I died a lot, but there was never a break in the action where I was just sitting there after a jump didn't allow me to make the next one w/o waiting.
22 - solid, nice flow on the left
23 - hard, reminds me of 16
25 - hard, but I dig it
26 - same.
28 - fuck this level, too hard. Didn't beat it.
29 - Like the design.

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:30am

Wonderful game, very engaging. Even though some levels were almost impossible I managed to beat them all.

Managore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44am

Thank you all for the wonderful comments!

@SojaBird: I definitely want to come back to this game and add more levels.
@burgerdare: If you mean level 16, I can give you a hint: Go left!
@7heSAMA: I agree with pretty much everything you've said. Sound effects and music are two things I still really need to work on, but I think I'm slowly improving. Thank you in particular for the running commentary! On reflection I wish I had included more levels that allow you to string together jumps and dives and really flow through the level.

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:52am

Really cool game. Nice art. Would love if one day the ground reacted to your movements

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:19am

Wow, what a gem! I'd like to echo the sentiments of SojaBird and the others - you should totally produce a full release from this concept.

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:44pm

amazing, very well balanced game; some levels are difficult but not impossible, just hard enough not to give up, then you get a level in one go! that's awesome..congrats!

Intoxicatious says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:26pm

This game was very fun to play, but da controls doe. They take a while to get used to, but once you do...BAM! Fun.

Charimation says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Absolutely beautiful! I think this is the most fun I've had out of the LD48 games I've played so far! :) Nice mechanics, beautiful movement/polish and it's nice to look at too!

blahoink says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:53pm

everything about this is just perfect.

rojo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:43pm

The level design and the execution of the mechanics for this game is really excellent, and I love the visual aesthetic.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:02am

Best entry I've played so far! Amazing job. Game is very polished. It's.. It's just FUN!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:53am

Probably my favorite one so far! Very well done :)

Pixlexia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:53am

The mechanic is really cool, the controls nice and fluid, and the level design challenging and fun. I especially liked level 13, it's really satisfying to complete tough levels. Love the lo-fi pixel art as well!

Definitely one of the top games for this LD.

psychonull says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:56am

WOW, really great game! I just couldn't stop playing until I finished (thanks for only 30 levels, I've a life too haha). Really great work!

BenW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:45am

Comments - My favorite game so far. Everything about it is fantastic. If I had to complain about anything it would be that the music is a bit repetitive.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:56am

Amazing! Didn't get past level 14, but it's a very lovely game.

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:20am

Now this is a beautiful game! I would spend money on a release!

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:53am

Beautiful game, with a really fun mechanic. 5/5 from me :) Doesn't even need explosions (whaaaat?)

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:11pm

A good game with a nice mechanic.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:46pm

This is fantastic. I've spent more time playing it than any other game thus far.

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:54pm

What is this magic?! Just wow...
Played it all...

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Very excellent. Clever mechanic, smooth controls/physics, and a really robust amount of content--none of which felt like filler.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:10pm

I really enjoyed this (beat all 30)! Smooth responsive controls and I like the trail which sorta tells you your path in a way.

For me it would be fun with a more adventure feel instead of puzzle driven since the speed is so much fun. You could really get some exploration on.

Oh if you need a spoiler/solution for lvl 28: http://i.imgur.com/mpaRZvS.gif

Atmospherium says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Holy crap, this game is good. Puzzles were incredibly challenging but logical (at least once I saw what I was supposed to do). I REALLY hope you develop this further.

dector says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Awesome!!! Concept and implementation. Such awesome game must be released!

drnick says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Best LD game I've played so far! Nice music, amazing concept, good level design, and beautiful GB-style graphics!

P.S. the following levels suck:
16 - Because the exit isn't obvious or deducible at all.
23 - Because it's doing the exactly same thing perfectly twice.

solkar says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:32am

Superb

v3games says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:16pm

This is great!

Wertle says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:17am

Fantastic mechanic! You have excellent pacing and level design skills. The level of challenge was just right and the level design often made me feel like a badass. Great work!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:01am

Excellent!
Probably best theme implementation on whole LD29, in my opinion of course.
Beat game except 16-th level. Can't figure out where the exit.
I got all three sparks. On the left pillar is placed death-saw. Is it mistake?
Also dificulty curve should be snooth. But 48hours, I understand =)

Managore says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:24am

Thank you again for the lovely comments, everyone. I'm going to follow the advice and continue to develop The Sun and Moon!

@SaintHeiser: The exit to level 16 is to the left of the pillar! I definitely should have made that more obvious in the level itself but it just didn't occur to me at the time.

gabbsson says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:43am

Liked this alot! Simple yet satisfying.

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:04pm

I love it, great mechanics and feeling. Level design starts to get interesting in level 5. Some level seems a bit useless though. Otherwise it's such an impressive work !

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:19am

My favourite game so far! I was pretty thoroughly addicted trying to solve all of the puzzles, and you balanced them so perfectly. They aren't too hard or too easy. It hit the sweet spot of being challenging enough where you get addicted because you know you're *capable* of beating it and you're *close enough*. I really loved it! The only complaint I had was that one of the sfx blips was a lot louder than the others, so I had to turn down my volume to normalize that one blip, but silenced the rest. Otherwise, FANTASTIC!

petey123567 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Great job, dude!

zkenshin says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:51am

Great entry, tons of content for the LD and interesting use of the theme. :)

Miltage says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:44am

Fantastic entry. Love the palette. Very clever use of momentum for puzzles.

Katamori says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:13am

Great in every aspects! Also, you appear in one of my LD29 gameplay videos.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Awesome concept and level design, and it kept me playing for like half an hour, lots of level for a compo game! oO
The only level I couldn't beat was the 28th one, it was soo hard...
Anyway, I had a lot of fun playing, definitely one of my favorites LD games! :D

mortus says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Great entry! I love the game mechanics and the puzzles, especially the earlier ones, where you have to figure out what to do first and not just do it (which is obvious but hard). Would have played this game on and on and on again if it were longer. Incredibly fun and polished for a 24 hours work!

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Got stuck on level 16 (where's the exit portal??), but I thoroughly enjoyed the game. A clever idea for a minimalistic platformer.

May 5, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Great mechanics! Nice Game! :)

May 5, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Awesome game. Congrats for getting featured on Kotaku.

ripatti says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Great entry! Played it ahout a hour. One of the best entries played so far. Well done!

Lacaranian says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Good work, some tricky yet engaging puzzles. Music got a bit repetitive, but nothing too bad.

BoneDaddy says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Absolutely AMAZING! Great job. Genius gameplay mechanic and some genius level design in there. Also your difficulty balance is superb (not too hard too fast and not too easy). Only wish was there was a better ending. And maybe a different looped song every now and then :P

Great graphics too btw.

Dohan says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Excellent game, with an incredible amount of levels. Beaten all levels but 28.

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:41am

This is amazing! This game has such a simple concept, but it does so much with it and really makes it click (and makes great use of the theme, might I add). The levels are incredibly inventive, and employ an impressive mix of twitch reactions and puzzle-solving. It's rare to find a puzzle platformer that relies so well on the kind of momentum one would usually find in an action game.

Also, the visuals do a very good job at pointing out hazards, and making a distinction between ground & air, and between being inside either area; it was always easy to keep track of where you are, which is very important for a game like this. The background graphics are also pretty without being obtrusive. The music does get a bit repetitive, though.

I really hope this game ranks high in the end, because it certainly deserves it. Great stuff!

euske says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Congrats for a great job!

lekochen says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Finished! Very smooth control and well-designed levels. This is brilliant!

jsmars says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:55am

Easily one of my favorites! Excellent platforming and fun mechanics! Strong 5 star on innovation and fun! Impressive amount of levels too, great job!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Great concept!

Ditto says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:49pm

To begin with. Dude. We pretty much had the same exact idea, that's fucking cool. Your game is super fucking cool and I love it!

Actual review:
Super meat boy meets invert gravity? Amazing! This game is so fucking solid, graphics are super tight, controls are fucking perfect! The music is kinda meh, but that's allright.. The level design is really fucking great(maybe except for level16)! You fucking win.

ps.
YES! I fucking completed it! Gosh jolly titfuck that was hard! LOVED IT. Thanks for creating this game dude, finding and playing this made my day! I really can't express in words how happy this game made me! :D

cageinabird says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Super impressive. The excellent level design stands out even more so because of how many there are.

Also, it was a good idea to not make it compulsory to beat a level to play the next one as there were seven I couldn't complete. :)

zebi24 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Really cool and fresh mechanics. Good job on graphics and music. Great entry! :)

Diptoman says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:20am

Great entry. Sweet beneath-the-surface mechanic. It was a bit weird, but unique. The music and graphics make a great mood, though the music gets monotonous after a while. The level design was good and challenging. Level 29 was a pain. Was stuck to this game until the end. Completed all levels, it was a lot of fun.

NicoM says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Everything about this is stunning, you deserve to win!!! Great job!:)

mcapraro says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:46pm

really love the graphics and overall mechanic. great job! level 5 got really hard really fast

mystakin says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:14am

If there was a dialog that said "Click here to preorder the full game" after the 30th level, I would have clicked this. This is just incredibly fun, addicting, and well done.

I'm going to keep this .exe and possibly speedrun it.

May 13, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Minimalist but great graphics and the physic make this game really fun to play

May 16, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Diving below terrain has to be one of the simpler, yet so dynamic and frustrating ways to approach "Beneath the Surface"... Awesome work!

Featured it in my Ludum Dare showcase video for today. http://youtu.be/HB1A8GTxm5Q

NightShadow0 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Holy crap, this mechanic is absolutely brilliant, it "feels" great to play. You've got something with real potential here. My only negative feedback is the audio, which gets repetitive quick. Impressive work!

ryangatts says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:04am

That's a wonderful mechanic and the levels were mostly really well designed. I think this game would be even better with a gamepad.

Congrats on making such a fine game!

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:25am

Great looking game, and amazing feeling to the controls, they feel so solid and tactical. Clever use of the core mechanic to make a ton of puzzles. Great stuff. Only downside - the music is good but far too short, so the loop gets very repetitive.

ruerob says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:18pm

That was really a nice game. I couldn't stop till I've solved all levels. Now I'm waiting for more. Please continue that great work. Just the music wasn't my favourite. Thank you for your great entry.

Menesetsu says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Wow! Such game, so cute, much tail. Thank you for that piece of art. :)

hissssssssss says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:18pm

The physics are easy to grasp but difficult to master! This mechanic is really amazing and you did a great job with level design. Awesome!

ErikU says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Definitely a challenging game, but well composed with a surprising number of levels given the time frame.

Make A Game says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Bloody amazing! It's nearly perfect, the controls are extremely responsive but the music felt a bit repetitive halfway through it.
I just didn't enjoy the screen shake upon death during repeated mistakes.
Beat every level, some really needed a lot of dexterity. When I reached level 20 I was wondering how more was there.
Solid concept, congratulations!

Almost says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 2:42am

Once you get used to swimming, it's pretty fun. It seemed odd that I had to be in the air in order to turn on the special.

May 20, 2014 @ 2:49am

This was a lot of fun. I was very impressed with the level design. Nice job!

The game's weakest point is definitely the music. By level 30, my ears were begging for mercy, but the sound button just muted everything (not just the music). It's clear that you chose to focus on the "meat" of the game (i.e. the level design) rather than music, which I admire. The problem with rushing music, though, is that it's one of the most easily annoying parts of a game. The game would've been better off and had a more pleasant mood without any music at all.

I also felt a little let down when I beat all 30 levels and nothing happened.

The fullscreen mode distorts the aspect ratio; are you aware of Ultimate Fullscreen, the extension I made to address this problem?

http://ultimatewalrus.com/mmf.php

May 20, 2014 @ 3:08am

Very good entry indeed! I like that you won, it's not graphic-polished-effects game, it's just a nice mood and a really great mecanic perfectly used. The only frustrating thing is the short loop on the music but you put a mute button and that's what i call "great Ludum design" :)

Managore says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 3:36am

A huge, huge thank you to everyone who played my game. The comments have been absolutely amazing to read!

The music is definitely the one thing I wish I had had more time to spend on. It was one of the last parts of the game I worked on and I was running very low on time and sleep at the time. For the next Ludum Dare, I'll make sure to set aside much more time for the music.

I'm also going to keep working on The Sun And Moon and that includes way better audio. @UltimateWalrus, I've already implemented proper full screen support and I plan to support multiple windowed resolutions as well, but thank you for linking to your extension, I'll check that out, too!

DragonXVI says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 11:53am

Oof! Difficulty ramps up at 14, but great simple mechanic, excellent learning curve, good variation of puzzles and a unique take on the theme. Congratulations on the win! :D

May 20, 2014 @ 12:55pm

great game man :)

andymar says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Awesome, and congratulations on winning. I only wish I had seen this game before the judging ended so I could boost up your rating ;)

shadow64 says ...
May 21, 2014 @ 12:05am

Very nicely done. I wanted to see what the best game was and this was indeed an amazing experience. I'll probably write it up and just to be perfectly clear I loved it. I beat it but it was very challenging without being unforgiving. Loved it. Great work.

kivifreak says ...
May 21, 2014 @ 5:15pm

I'd like an ending ;) But i'm glad i beat it !!!

May 23, 2014 @ 4:08pm

You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y20OlsewERU

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]