Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

You, Boat

by Majsmanne - 48 Hour Compo Entry

See the wonders beneath the surface in You, Boat! Explore underground caverns, encounter goofy sharks and fight against unintuitive controls!

Instructions:
Use the mouse to manipulate the instruments of you submarine.
Escape exits the game.
The two floating blocks on the left indicates current and "target" depth.

Note: Linux and OS X versions have not been tested. I make no guarantees.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#101Mood3.74
#143Innovation3.73
#147Theme3.77
#470Overall3.26
#482Fun3.10
#542Humor2.45
#665Audio2.56
#743Graphics2.87

Comments

Root says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Cool game mechanics

tidalkraken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:09am

I actually liked this a lot. Great interface.

Martins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09am

I love this game!
You should put it on Steam (after a year of improving it, of course). I don't know any other game in this genre, besides "The Aurora Wager" and that flash game where a bear was driving a car.
"Vehicular qwop" would be the name of this genre :D

clearlyspam23 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37am

Actually a pretty relaxing game, 9/10 would play again.

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:01am

Great idea, if you locked the camera when yolu interacted that'd be much better!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04am

Highly immersive and fresh.
I didn't find it unintuitive at all.

davidB says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:07am

Not "my cut of tea", it's immersive but not fun.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

add this to a really detailed under water world and you could have something really cool (Submarine SIM)
Great controls and movement

vogon101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

This game is entirely pointless with no clear goal. It is overly difficult and the controls are un-intuitive. I LOVED IT. FANTASTIC GAME IDEA and lovely implementation. Great job. The lovechild of QWOP and every crap but serious simulator ever. FANTASTIC

Boodog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Really cool! Good job!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:45pm

First game with similar idea to mine ;) But I like mouse controlled mechanics. Very relaxing experience.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Nice game.
Took me a bit to long to figure out the controls but I like the way they work it's a nice little game. Add some more scenery too see and this would be a pretty neat game.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:57pm

I think this would work great in a tactile screen. The idea of rotating the controls with the mouse is very nice, but I kept losing my grip. Cool game!

metjm says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:59pm

I'M A U BOAT

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Interesting game mechanics, reminds me of Virtual Sailors :D
Btw, try to make thing to pop up the name and its function when the mouse hover over it.
Also, it would be interesting to use a keyboard instead of mouse :D

May 7, 2014 @ 3:15am

OS X version seemed to work OK.

Great mood on this exploration game.

The controls were very skeumorphic ;) I felt like I'd been stuck at the helm of a real submarine. "What does this do? ... oh!" Then I went about exploring the deep, in a sort of meditative, calming way.

Also: This would be great with an Oculus Rift or similar! I might give that a shot later and I'll post back here.

Needs more stuff to find underwater though.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:50am

Unfortunately the download gives an 'Temporary error, retrying'...

Majsmanne says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:01am

Thanks for letting me know, I've reuploaded the Windows version, hopefully the download will work now.

Ragzouken says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:36pm

like the controls!

Hamsternator says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Pretty cool game. The gameplay right now is a little lacking but the potential is definitely there =)

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Doesn't seem like the windows download is working. Gives temporary error.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]