Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fake Zoo

by v3games - Jam Entry

FAKE ZOO!
Where the visitors don't know the animals are fake, and it's your job to keep it that way!

------

How to play:

You run a fake zoo. From your underground control room, keep the zoo patrons fooled by keeping all the animals behaving like their fleshy, expensive counterparts. Don't lay it on too thick, or your patrons might catch on!

There's a sucker born every minute. Can you fool them all?

------

Controls:

Completely ridiculous. Experiment to find the best and most realistic strategies. Throw it at the wall and see what sticks. Mouse only.

The team:

Greg Foxworthy (Programming, Giraffe Vocals)
Nate Logan (Illustration, Programming)
Tyler Mitchell (Programming, Ragdoll Abuse)
Kyle Sebestyen (Music, Programming, Colorist, Narrator)
Blake Chastain (Story Text)
Liam Foxworthy (CHEEP, CHEEP, CHEEP)

We laughed all weekend putting this game together, and we hope you get a big kick out of it too.

------

Story:

The zoo industry is hit by hard times, what with the youth being into so many video games and all. So the zookeeper had to cut the budget. He started with the ape, dolphin, giraffe, and penguin food.
Sadly, the Budget Zoo food had gone bad, and they all died. Luckily, the zoo keeper's sister was into animatronics...nyaaa, and the zoo had to stay open. Welcome to Fake Zoo! Where the visitors don't know the animals are fake, and it's your job to keep it that way!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#10Humor(Jam)4.21
#12Innovation(Jam)4.15
#178Audio(Jam)3.49
#191Overall(Jam)3.48
#238Fun(Jam)3.23
#305Graphics(Jam)3.55
#321Mood(Jam)3.14
#416Theme(Jam)3.06

Comments

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:04pm

I like the voice effecting, and the *chi*s in the background. Cool concept. The art is nice too!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Hi. You have made a really weird game... Congrats!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:10pm

I really like the concept. And it's one of the most original things I've seen on here :)
But it does feel a lot like just randomly clicking on stuff and hoping they get happy...
It would have been better if the buttons actually said what they control (the only one that does this effectively is the sound one).
Also, I couldn't find how to control the shifting gear(?) thing. Clicking didn't work, nor did any key I tried...

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Haha, this is pretty silly. Five stars for humor. It was difficult to make a connection between the controls and whether or not I was winning/losing, but I suppose that's kind of the point.

Yword says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Interesting! The art is not bad, but it need some explanation about the functions of the buttons and levers.

Zupoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Great graphics and audio, and very original. I don't see the theme in here, though.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19pm

This truly is innovative!
Impressed beyond impressivness

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:15pm

I have no idea what I'm doing with controls, but that was a really good idea :D

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Pretty funny. Didn't mach with the theme very well

Stuffie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Lol, I have no idea what I just played but it was hilarious !

sink_t says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:17pm

An original game with potential, but again, the realisation failed. More precisely, the controls are extremely poor and pretty much random in their functioning. Of particular note is the constantly flicking volume meter, which is not only very annoying but mostly useless.

dusho says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:17pm

that is some idea :)

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Pretty silly game you got here. Nice art and sounds. Wish I knew what the heck I was doing tough! Hahaah

Fib says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

This game is very original... and hilarious! I don't understand the controls, but it's hilarious to experiment and see how the animals react. The art and sound are fantastic. Great job!

MrShortee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Weird, funny and well made. cheep cheep cheep.. :D

Shivur says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Cheep Cheep ! (Love it)

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Great concept and use of the theme. Randomly mashing the controls was fun at first but got boring quickly.

SuperMsp10 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:44am

funniest concept!

drnick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:07am

Interesting game. It's a great accomplishment to have controls that are so random :P Unfinished though. Needs more polishing.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Really nice game. I laughed a lot and found the idea to be very creative. Good Work. Also: My giraffe was flying and all the people got upset while I was laughing like crazy ;)

lukepilgrim says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:56pm

haha, the people are happy but Im not sure if a realistic giraffe moves like that... xD had a lot of fun!

DrStahlbart says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Haha, I've never seen such a game before, that's why it's so damn funny. I love to play with your ragdoll mechanics, but I think the red button could be a little bit crazier. :)

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Hilarious! Cool idea and like the graphical style. Fakeness like this is a unique take on the theme for sure.

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:08pm

I dont have idea to control it! But the doplphics looks nice every time! Lol Nice idea

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:35am

No real strategy, no correlation between buttons and actions, totally nonsensical controls.......

....and yet, a smile to my face, laughter, and genuine fun. Congratulations, you managed to make the weirdest game I've played so far and yet probably one of the most fun. I genuinely feel like some idiot mashing controls for a mechanical zoo fooling other idiots into giving me their cash.

So, yeah, not exactly your typical game by any means, but I guess that's kind of the point, right? I had fun. Cool game, guys.

May 2, 2014 @ 4:43pm

This was a weird, yet oddly entertaining game :/
I kinda liked it, hahha! Good job ;)

Jamcount says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Like it, but wouldn't be able to sit and play it for hours

May 3, 2014 @ 2:04pm

haha so innovative! I felt immersed and invested from the first moment!

May 3, 2014 @ 5:24pm

This is completely insane and I love it! I made that giraffe fly for a bit. Maybe that was what tipped off the visitors because they all left :P

alvarop says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Great idea, really funny game.

hbocao says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Well.. mission accomplished guys: I LOLed. Multiple times. Awesome job with the sounds and the graphics are very pretty. Fun and weird entry.

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:13am

I think I might have "won" this game because I found a way to never lose anybody at the dolphin. He's got 11 people who haven't moved and I'm raking in the cash. My pro-fake-dolphin-strat: (spoilers to those who want to discover their own strat?)

Never click Red button or sound thing.
Yellow dial set at like 11PM (This might be the default)
Lever all the way up (This might be the default)
6 Green Buttons: This is the important one... I'll get back to it
And Red shift thing in 4th(bottom)

All you have to do to keep your guests infinitely entertained is alternate between green button top left and green button mid-left. Just do like 10 taps on one and then switch to the other and repeat forever. This alternates the dolphin spinning and then just moving forward, the spinning combats boredom but the moving forward combats suspicion it's fake. So just leave everything the same, the flying giraffe is a lost cause, and just entertain the heck out of those 11 or so people and get rich beyond your wildest (see what I did there?) dreams!

Creative idea for a game, I liked it.

Katamori says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:51am

What the...?!

v3games says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:02pm

@joe40001 We looked at the code and that will indeed keep you alive indefinitely, so you have earned the Fake Dolphin Master Strategist Trophy. Thanks for playing you magnificent dolphin master.

conormn says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:09am

Holy Moly. I LOVE everything about this. Please keep going with it, please :)

jujule says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:31pm

I really like it. I sucked at playing the dolphin but the girafe was great fun. The graphics are good too. It is a very tongue in cheek yet very consistent experience.
Fantastic job.
I'm sur you can add some more animals ( monkeys, sloths, spiders, snakes, birds, elephants ( the trunk!!! )).

misterwalter says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:43am

I spun the dolphin until children cried. It was the only way I knew to make money. Now the crowds have vanished, and I am alone with my fake animals.

joe40001 says ...
May 24, 2014 @ 12:53pm

@v3games
It took me a bit to realize you awarded me this trophy, but now that I know it, I feel extremely grateful, is it sad or amazing that this is one of the biggest accomplishments of my life?

I'll go with amazing. Anyway thanks for the trophy and take comfort, I'm very stubborn about "solving" games so it's not like your game is flawed or anything, I played so many games this LD29 (I'm releasing a video soon about my effort of playing/beating 350 LD29 games) but this was one of the more memorable ones I played, clever and inventive and good humor.

Thanks very much for the trophy. :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]