Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Breaker

by AgeNt_ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an auger drilling in a planet trying to destroy it. The objective is to destroy the core and escape safely. You can purchase upgrades at "Purchase Zones".

a-d to turn
click to shoot
shift to boost

Mine "Glod" to spend for upgrades or HP.

Programs Used:
Photoshop CC
3ds Max 2010
Unity Pro 4.3
Bfxr (sound fx)
Bosca Ceoil (music)
Audacity (sound edit)

Thank you for the wonderful experience! Hopefully next time won't be so stressful.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#43Theme4.00
#130Fun3.64
#203Overall3.58
#236Mood3.44
#322Graphics3.55
#447Audio2.93
#462Innovation3.19
#503Humor2.50

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Nice concept and pleasant game. Thx ++

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01am

Fun! I enjoy saying "glod" out loud.

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02am

Solid, smooth controls

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:04am

Very enjoyable!

Calahagus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06am

I really appreciated the low-poly graphics!

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10am

Nice graphics, fun gameplay!

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:02am

Absolutely Brilliant. The Game is just so much Fun!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06am

Real good going.

Enjoyed it...

Balint197 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18pm

I really enjoyed your game! I think though it was a bit tedious having to come to the surface for upgrades. But great game overall, well done!

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21am

This was alot of fun, love the boost.

porglezomp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Man, this was really cool! I liked how you handled the digging trail, and boy are those enemies tough! (I should've gotten more upgrades.) Very nice game!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:39am

Nice game and good controls, felt very smooth to play.

dusho says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:49am

This was really fun. Loved the upgrades and how smooth game felt. Good work!

phi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Very nice. The controls are very intuitive, the handling mechanism seems reasonable. The difficulty is very balanced, and I like how the player can develop his own "style" of playing it.
I don't know if this kind of behaviour was intended, but I found it easy to just circle around the enemies holding down A or D, so they can't get you. It's actually kind of fun... :D
I think the graphics don't give a very strong feeling of "beneath the surface", at least in the top regions near the surface. The shaders and 3D-ness make it look more like the drill is kind of sliding on a flat surface.
But anyway, this is a very entertaining game, and I loved playing it!

malmazuke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:19am

Well done. Really enjoyed playing this

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Hi. Love the mechanics, aiming backwards guiding forwards, second black/red worm nightmare. Sounds fit well. Entertaining to play.

May 10, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Fun game! I included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ARsCeJtTlas

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]