Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

NYC

by Secret_Tunnel - Jam Entry

Faced with no other option, you enter the subway.

Design and Programming - Trent Steen (@Secret_Tunnel)
Art and Animation - Liam Yager
Sound and Music - Alec Steiner

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#15Mood(Jam)4.30
#40Audio(Jam)4.00
#121Theme(Jam)3.68
#154Overall(Jam)3.55
#161Graphics(Jam)3.94
#198Innovation(Jam)3.38
#393Humor(Jam)2.50
#515Fun(Jam)2.73

Comments

marccspro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Nice game :D

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45pm

This was really very well done. Sound was excellent, graphics were amazing, fitted the theme really well. Solid game.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Reminded me a lot of Lone Survivor. Very good job! :D

Tuism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Man! I liked it lots! The moodiest piece I've seen so far in this LD! But... I met "that thing", threw "that thing" at it, and couldn't progress any further. I dunno what I was supposed to do but I went back the way I came and nothing happened. So... Didn't see very much!

Good job though guys! Atmospheric!

Sink says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:39pm

This has a super great mood and presentation! I really liked it! I couldn't get past blob man, I tried 3 times and couldn't get it. Cool non-the-less!

Crumpet says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51pm

The whole mood of the game is excellent, through the use of nice artwork, and sound design that absolutely nails it. Seriously, the sound was spot on.

I have some issues with the gameplay, in particular the combined unexpected deaths and the long waiting times between death and when you get back to a point where you do anything except just walk forwards. While I can respect that this adds a whole level of magnitude to each death, making you think over any decision which might kill you quite carefully, some aspects of the game can be quite counter-intuitive, meaning some of the deaths feel a bit frustrating.

Overall, a good game which could be made excellent if you somehow solved the aforementioned problem. Excellent mood, and even better sound design!

blahoink says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43am

the mood is amazing and the art is great and the noise is phenomenal. But when i died on the blob the game was over for me and i didnt want to walk all the way back. a bit confused.

Hob623 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:51am

Very nice sound, gameplay a bit minimalist but I suppose necessary for the mood.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Yes, the mood is the best that I had seen in this LD, but the gameplay maybe is too slow and I don't know how to pass the Monster. A great game but with some flaws.

rubna says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:07pm

wow, at first I was like "pfff slooow" but when the trumpet player thing happend it really started to creep me out! very good job on mood/audio, and the graphics fit very well too! Very unique, good job!

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:45pm

It didn't work for me! :( This game looked really neat, too.

kibertoad says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Been a while since a jam entry freaked me out so much. Is it possible to get past the pale thing? Feeding him rat corpse doesn't seem to work, same with bullets.
Wait, was that the point?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Wooo ! the mood is fantastic, simple but very effective sound design, nice graphism.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:01am

Great use of underground without it being obnoxious! Really not sure how to get past the damn blob, and getting back to him takes quite some time so I eventually gave up. Sorry :(

Neonian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:45am

Pretty good!

hbocao says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:03am

Oh yeah... the mood is great. Awesome graphics and sound. Great team you have there. My only problem is that was too frustrating to come back slowly every death. Great entry, guys!

Neonlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:29am

Excellent use of sound and ambiance. Awesomely detailed and pretty surprising to see such a polished game done for LD! Great work.

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:53am

how do you get past the monster?

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:14am

5 stars for mood definitely! :) I wish there were checkpoints, having to walk so slowly back to where you died was a bit tedious. But amazing game for such short time. :)

allurious says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:30am

Really atmospheric, loved it!

Snoother says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Dark and tense. Love it. Also an interesting use of theme. Wondered if there was a story I missed; regardless, as a mood piece it works very well.

MonsieurS says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Can I kill the blob? At least I know he can kill me. It was nice, but having to go all the way again was a game breaker for me.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:52pm

This was a very well made game, not only was it gorgeous the sounds were great and it was very interesting to play. The only small gripe I have is how long it takes to return back to where you came, but that's not a big deal.

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:04pm

This is by far the tensest, most well produced entry in the jam in terms of visual and sound design. I almost jumped twice, the first time when ther rat squeeked and then the trumpet player (NICE JOB!!!) But, as MonsieurS said, when I got killed by the blob thing and went back to the start, I felt I didn't want to do everything again at all. Especially when the pace is so slow. You should seriously add checkpoints since your games thrives on the element of surprise, going through all that again and again is just flat out boring after the first time. Still, very highly ranked for me!

moonmagic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Aha! The bat death made me laugh, a real laugh, drawn sharply like the plunger of a syringe that almost escapes the barrel. The trumpet player is sublime. The receding rain satisfying and pleasant. I wished for footstep sound, and the gun sounded small compared to the terrifying Rat. Minor quibbles. The BEAST, I did not know how to pass. Lovely mood, stark noirish sadness and doom.

May 2, 2014 @ 4:08am

Five stars for mood! Though when I got killed, I didn't really feel compelled to try again, because the walking is very slow and it's a bit boring with all the long stretches.

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:07pm

I... I died for a big and strange monster, and I shoot him!!!
So, I try again and this time, I killed the rat ^^
Fucking awesome

(however I don't like games with a order solution :/ )

May 2, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Very good mood, well done. It's a great entry.

rujo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:46pm

nice game and pixel art!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:39pm

really nice feel but no idea how to get past the first monster - no hints anywhere - great job

garygreen says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Very atmospheric and nice looking. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]