Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

aoutch!

by Bashosha - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi, this my first LD48 =D

Click on what is moving under the skin

I used Unity3D, Photoshop, sfxr (my bad sfx doesn't appear in the flash version!)
used a reference form Google to draw the arm and the ointment
there is a funny adds inside the game don't miss it ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#176Humor3.21
#408Theme3.43
#892Audio2.03
#1027Innovation2.41
#1042Graphics2.41
#1127Fun2.24
#1169Mood2.04
#1201Overall2.32

Comments

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Really like the ads xD

mattpattie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Nice simple concept. it did bug out a bit and i had a game over 0:00 secs and ads all at the same time
cool though :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Lovely simple game, I laugh several times. It's a good job, especially for a first ludum dare entry even if it was sometimes a litte bit laggy :)

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Very strange game, but I like the fake Ad :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Simple, and some funny bits. Nice work.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Truly a fast paced and addicting next generation game!

Bashosha says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:42am

Thanks a lot =)

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Glitched out after a while by instantly losing about round 4 in. Kind of creepy concept. The advert pop up was pretty darn funny, and the game was a simple fun diversion for a while.

May 1, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Nice enjoyable game. But when I tried resetting, it wouldn't reset and it would keep saying game over.

May 2, 2014 @ 12:45am

The ad placement was funny. Took me a bit to catch onto clicking and holding. Is the timer supposed to keep going before you hit Next Level?

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:36am

Good humor and a nice entry for your first Ludum Dare.

Figglewatts says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:58am

Good idea for a game. I thought more could have been added though. Loved the ads, haha!

OmarShehata says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Nice attempt for your first Ludum Dare!

I was a bit lost at the beginning with there being no tutorial or anything to tell me what was happening. (I wasn't aware I had to click until I read the description, adding just this line of text in the game in the first level would help a lot)

As people mentioned, it was also a bit strange the timer keeps going even after the level has ended.

It was fun to catch all the (I'm not exactly sure what they are) things under the skin. But because they just disappeared when clicked on, it didn't "feel" very good.

You'll be surprised at how adding small things like a "+10!" score prompt or a little squish animation or any positive feedback like that can make a huge difference in making players really love to press on them.

I couldn't really play too much because I lost once and the game seems to be stuck on "Game Over" even when I restart it.

Although, it didn't really seem fair because I lost trying to click on the "Next Level" button.

This might be an example of the game being frustrating rather than difficult. Since you lose when you click outside of the things, and I don't exactly know the hitbox or boundary for them (making them light up when your mouse is over them would fix this) so it can be frustrating when someone mislicks and loses but thinks he really did click on them.

The ads as a mechanic were nice in keeping the game from getting stale. If you had more time you could have added maybe different kinds of things, instead of moving back and forth, maybe going in and out of the skin and you had to catch them at the right moment.

Hope you had fun doing this though, and hope to see you in the next Ludum Dare :D

Bashosha says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:21am

Thanks a lot guys :)
@Garrett yes I didn't have the time to fix this

@Omar yes you are right about all of your points
Thanks for this detailed comment really appreciated =)and very useful to me.

thanks again all :D

May 4, 2014 @ 12:14pm

He he, funny little game! But for some strage reason, I can only play the web version once, then I'm stuck on the game over screen, even when I reload the page. Talk about permadeath! ;)

Blanky says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:52am

Nice.

0Creds says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:55am

Good game overall. It seemed to bug out a little bit, but overall it was fun to play. Good job.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:26am

The ads are just fantastic.

kunzbe says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Nice ads :)

TeamFlare says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:09pm

its funny :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]