Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Return To The Surface

by Flam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Etno entered the wrong coordinates on his teleporter on the way to a Ludum Dare meet-up. His teleporter is now out of juice and he's stranded below the surface. Find the way to the power stones and help Etno reach the meet-up!

I'm pretty satisfied with what I've managed to build. This was my first Ludum Dare and I'm quite happy with the amount of knowledge I've gained on these two days.

Known bugs:

The jumping is a bit buggy. If you fail to jump, use the jet pack.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#459Theme3.37
#525Graphics3.21
#637Audio2.61
#668Fun2.89
#775Overall2.95
#1085Innovation2.28
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

uprightpath says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:51am

I had an issue with the jump attempts failing until after I used the thruster.

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36am

I get "Error: Could not find or load main class LD29-Return To The Surface.jar" when trying to launch.

Flam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47am

@manabreak Could you update your Java (might be a problem with JREs < 1.7)?

thristhart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:58am

Jetpacks automatically add a +1 to the fun rating. I explored for a while but never found a power stone. I would do very poorly in Etno's situation, apparently. No issues with running it, although I did run into the known jumping bug. Not a big deal.

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02am

Nice job! I like the aesthetic, with the lights from bullets and the gun, as well as the pixel art. I feel like the enemies bunch up too easily though, I get overrun very quickly.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02am

I had fun with the jetpack (and a broken element if you jumped and then immediately pressed jetpack you'd fly a lot faster), and it looked nice, but the enemies got too easily cluttered with the looping stage so I wouldn't see one for ages, and then suddenly meet a bunch all at once. Also I did not find a single Power Stone.

Aomeas says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:12am

Same there, error (Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: LD29-Return To The Surface.jar).
Fixed after updating my JRE.

I've beaten it after 3 retries and the game is in the theme :3
Not too hard, not too easy, maybe too short.
An ambient music should've been good too.

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:18am

Nice mood, loved the torch. I would not reach the meetup healthily.

I had the jump bug also.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:57am

I didn't find the exit and the best way of dealing with these ghosts seems to simply escape. Some music, even simple would be great next time ;-)

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Loved the art on this, great feel.

atombrot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:13pm

I like the idea of your game very much and also the creepy bugs look very cool. A bit more variety would have been nice. Also sometimes jump would not work (I had to use the jetpack first to be able to jump). For a first ludum dare entry it's great ;)

May 7, 2014 @ 2:58am

Fix the jump bug and how the gun doesn't seem to shoot where you aim, and this would be really solid!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]