Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cardumen

by jotaSe - Jam Entry

Hi, we couldn't finish all the game because we lost a lot of time this weekend doing another things about our responsability, but this is the core of the game, you should control the "cardumen" (shoal) clicking the screen to avoid the predators, they choose the closest command, so you have to aware of this

We only add the penguins (there are a few more predators) because it's the simplest behavior, just moving to left or right, the other predators have more complex behavior, but they are not tested yet.

We didn't use any game engine, just a new (2 months early) javascript framework (http://www.pandajs.net/) and a AI library that I created a few weeks ago https://github.com/JotaSe/Panda.js-plugins.

I hope you enjoy it, Cheers.!



Credits (twitter) :
Javier Segovia @jota_segovia
Luis Fernandez @lfernandez93
Romer Vilchez

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#521Fun(Jam)2.72
#546Theme(Jam)2.78
#560Innovation(Jam)2.61
#567Humor(Jam)2.06
#713Overall(Jam)2.39
#721Mood(Jam)2.00
#724Graphics(Jam)2.17
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:49am

It's actually pretty fun, too bad there weren't more to it :( it crashed after a replayed. Nice attempt :D

jotaSe says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:54am

Thx for play it :D, I guess we'll try to finish it, at least I'll try on vacations D:

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:39pm

I liked the idea, cool implementation of a new framework as pandajs, the game is a bit ugly thought haha, I would have loved at least a little of audio.
Looking forward to your improved versions.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:52pm

The idea is good, but the game needs better graphics, atmosfear and more mechanics, it's too simple, keep improving!

Udell Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Couple of penguins got stuck on the border of the screen, but otherwise it was pretty cool!

blockbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Enjoyable premise!

popogames says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:34pm

With a bit of sound this game could be a whole lot better. keep improving the concept and you got yourself a game!

May 4, 2014 @ 2:44am

Nice prototype. I'm not sure what the number on top are. They keep increasing when the penguin crash to the right wall.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]