Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Upside Down

by simon02 - Jam Entry

In this (super short) 2D platformer something strange has happened with the world. Jumping is impossible because of some weird kind of gravity. Instead you can switch surface - making you appear on the other side of whatever material you are standing on.

This is my first actualy game and I really liked the experience. I did not have much time this weekend (I really didn't expect to hand anything in actually), so music, sound and pretty graphics are all missing. There really only is some kind of game play and mechanic idea worked out with still lots of room for expansion and improvements.

I hope it gives you just a couple minutes of pleasure :-)

Stack: libgdx + photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#168Innovation(Jam)3.46
#444Theme(Jam)3.00
#515Humor(Jam)2.19
#553Fun(Jam)2.64
#603Overall(Jam)2.79
#674Audio(Jam)1.40
#683Mood(Jam)2.29
#693Graphics(Jam)2.33

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

cool!

simon02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12am

Forgot to add - controls is only with arrow keys. Up will make you appear on the other side of the surface you are currently standing on.

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37am

interesting concept. tricky controls make it hard to work with the moving platforms.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:41am

Crazy twitchy and wicked hard. I couldn't get past the second level.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Cool concept, although I couldn't figure out how to get past the spike field in the first level...

Atridas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Couldn't find my way past the first platform :-(

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Unfortunately, I couldn't get passed the very first level. I have a feeling it was broken; the moving platform didn't go completely over the spikes. The idea for this game is very novel, but the execution could have been better. The left-right movement is very glide-y yet the up-down movement is very choppy. The graphics are pretty lacking and there's no sound. This could be a pretty good game if you polished it up a bit more, but for now it's a little rough around the edges. Still, well done for your first game.

simon02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Make sure you are on the top side of the world and switch when the moving block goes over land, this way you will end up on top of the moving block.

eLLectron says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:11pm

I loved the concept !
I hope you'll work to make graphics and the physic better !

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Interesting idea and crazy hard! My complaint with the difficulty is that there is a very very small window to do the mid-air switches needed to get to some platforms. They aren't impossible, but I think lowering the gravity just a bit would have made the difficulty more appropriate. Good job though!

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:62)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:483)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.jarinjarloader.JarRsrcLoader.main(JarRsrcLoader.java:58)
Caused by: java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: Can't load library: /var/folders/70/9my2nv792yn72xw4k_5fcv100000gn/T/libgdxross/553733341/liblwjgl.dylib
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1817)
at java.lang.Runtime.load0(Runtime.java:809)
at java.lang.System.load(System.java:1083)
at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:70)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:95)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:112)
at org.lwjgl.openal.AL.<clinit>(AL.java:59)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.openal.OpenALAudio.<init>(OpenALAudio.java:85)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.<init>(LwjglApplication.java:79)
at com.octoforce.games.ld29.Main.main(Main.java:14)
... 5 more

Sounds like you forgot to package the LWJGL natives for OS X? ;)

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Really nice gameplay idea. The mechanics could have been fine tuned to make the game less unfair - the acceleration was really fast.

Simon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:58pm

It's a good idea I wish I could see more I was not able to pass the first moving platform, I can reach the platform and even get to the top but then the platform does not allow me to get to the other side of the big wall. Anyway it's still really good.

mikedirl says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Interesting idea and looks to be well executed but I cannot get past the first level.

BooleanByte says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Nice concept, I didn't realy understand how to come past the moving platform. but nice3 anyway.

euske says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:42pm

I spend good two hours onto this, but I couldn't beat the second level. The mechanics feel much like VVVVVV, which is one of my favorite games. Good job!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:28pm

This was an interesting idea. The game was pretty unforgiving though, which made it more frustrating than fun. Maybe start off with something a little easier so new players can get used to the controls?

csanyk says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:56am

Couldn't even figure out how to get past the spikes on the first level. Feels broken. Not unplayable, just bad mechanics/level design, or insufficient feedback to guide me when I die.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]