Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Frank the Fish

by eastes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Throw rocks at pigs and Pepsi Consultants!

My first ever game and Ludum Dare.

Style is low poly geometric.

It took 12 hours to bake the textures, hence the delay in porting to windows.

Windows version is recommended over the web version to take advantage of the graphics.

Jump from platform to platform to find new enemies to feed frank the fish before he eats you. Jumping is supposed to be fun and difficult.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#130Graphics3.93
#149Humor3.29
#249Audio3.27
#474Mood3.07
#555Fun3.02
#574Overall3.17
#778Innovation2.75
#1160Theme2.18

Comments

Lrnk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:29am

Mental. Difficult! Brilliant.

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:30am

I really liked the art style and colors. Throwing rocks at pigs was not as rewarding as I first imagined. But I had some fun. :)

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32am

The game looks really good, at least for 48 hours that for sure, but man it runs poorly. I have like 15fps all the time. Gameplay-wise - i didnt get it. Menus were bad...

Cell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:37am

Haha, fantastic stuff!
Love the weird talking-music :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39am

Runs well on my laptop and the visuals are great, nice use of colour.

mikedirl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Very difficult but also very interesting. I think I need a more power full computer to play these 3D games.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:48pm

It's got a cool N64 platformer vibe to it. Seems like there's a few bugs with the menus and all the little hops make it a bit of a slog in the end, but it's extremely impressive for 48 hours.

quill18 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Love the low-poly/flat-shaded art style!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14pm

This game is completely insane. From the visuals to the music. It's fun. :D

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Crazy, brilliant graphics! I loved it! <3

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Ran great; This was your first game ever? Did you know Unity beforehand? Well done!

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:52pm

I really liked the art style :D

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53pm

The jumping doesn't feel quite natural, it feels like I'm in space. Other than that, the Pepsi rap is fun and the concept about the game is just crazy! :D Good fun

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Graphics are nice and so is music. An invert mouse option would have been great.
Also I don't see how theme based it this game.

Nice overall first entry.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:59pm

The graphic style is gorgeous, but jumping felt quite uncontrolled (this does however add to the difficulty). Overall a good game though!

eastes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Frank the fish lives beneath the surface of the ocean. Feed him pigs and Pepsi consultants

schnüt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39pm

This is a wonderful game. Throwing pigs of cliffs to become friends with a giant fish named Frank? Absolutely fun.
The only thing that bugged me was that I had to restart the game to reset the Level. I don't know if that was done on purpose or not, but it felt better having pigs to throw away after restarting. ;-)

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:03am

Very weird game, but in a good way.

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:13am

Really really poorly on my computer (Mac Mini), but from the 10fps I got it looked really nice.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:19am

Oh man i think i just jizzed a little for the visuals.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:22am

Ran alright on my machine, though I had trouble with the web version not locking my mouse. Liked the visuals, gameplay was simple, but worked.

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:31am

Like a wierd and wonderful dream!

mrhill says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:45am

I just ran around and try to make awesome jumps. It was the best! Love the art style

Delca says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:57am

The low-poly look was awesome, as was the audio. Shooting rocks at pigs has never been so much fun!
Definitely a must-play. Congrats!

davidB says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:00am

The controls (arrow + space + mouse) are very hard. On azerty keyboard it's "impossible" to play, except shooting the 3 firs ts pigs.

607 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:11am

Haha, genius! xD I really had much fun with this one. At some point my aiming messed up though, because when I minimalised the game and then opened it again, I would have to aim down to shoot forward. But that may have been my fault, it was great! The music was also fitting well.

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Crazy, mental, stunning visuals and sound. Very nice - like it.

May 5, 2014 @ 4:28am

Like roaming about in a salvador dali painting turned video game. Great fun when so many other games can take themselves too seriously. The only thing tweaky was frank can clip all over the place. Otherwise great game. Loved chucking the Pepsi Salesman into the drink.

Got featured in a showcase video on youtube ta boot: http://youtu.be/ZqtwPW9QMLk

ninjacharlie says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:59pm

The graphics were nice. It was a little buggy, but fun. Good job :)

May 8, 2014 @ 9:15pm

woow the art style is fantastic!

gre says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:15pm

I love the low poly art.
Game not so challenging but cool.
The gravity is weird. (or the jump is too slow)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]