Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Descent

by camlang - Jam Entry

Ancient evil lurks in the depths of temple catacombs. Fight your way to the chamber with the black obelisks and defeat the mage twins.

---DESCRIPTION---
You'll get 3 levels:
1. Intro
2. Catacombs
3. Chamber with the black obelisks

And two types of enemies:
1. Mage (range)
2. Spider (melee)

First level is just intro (go straight up). To enter level 3 you have to defeat the black mage on the second level and run through the ruined portal (see screenshots). When (and if) the mage twins are defeated it's the end of the game. Mages also spawn minions.
There is no health bar, but as you get more damage the screen will gradually get noisier. If you're hit the red vignetting will appear. At the start of each level you health is replenished. When you die you restart at level 2.

---CONTROLS---
Arrow keys / WASD: Move
Left click: Attack
Second left click: Second Attack

---ALL THE REST---
The game is super hard, it's basically 10 or so hits and you're dead. But with some practice and craft it is possible to win. It's hard to tell when you get hit for the most part because the attack animations are messy so rely on vignetting.

---ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS---
Thank you all for playing and for your feedback. We trully appreciate it. Special thanks to BuKaneerz and TomboFry for streaming our game on Twitch.

---UP1---
Wow, it's fantastic how many of you have interest in our entry. Thanks again for feedback and criticism. We are aware of all the bugs mentioned but unfortunately we had no time to fix them during the jam.
We will publish a fixed version when judging is done and we hope to make it a full feature or something else based on similar mechanics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#24Graphics(Jam)4.55
#53Mood(Jam)3.97
#154Overall(Jam)3.55
#178Audio(Jam)3.49
#359Fun(Jam)3.01
#444Theme(Jam)3.00
#568Innovation(Jam)2.59
#569Humor(Jam)2.05

Comments

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:12pm

The art style is fantastic!

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Awesome work ! Graphics are fantastic !
A real hard roguelike game !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Very well polished and looks great.

Lyje says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:54am

I got to the boss thing - it's a pretty hard game! Loving the art style, very reminiscent of Hyper Light Drifter - which is a good thing! Am I right the noise filter is your health bar? Hope this does well as I think it could be a lovely game :)

niculistana says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:45am

I love the theme especially the sound and art!

I had to search this game because my game had the same name(looks like I wasn't the only one). If you have a chance, feel free to check my game out over here, and I would love it if you can critique it:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=35234

niculistana says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:51am

I'm actually wondering how you were able to apply the camera filter since you used Unity3D like I did.

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:00am

Unity offered 30 days trial during LD, so we had access to image effects.

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:12am

graphics so cute! i liked it) but mobs have a little bit more health than i would =)

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Beautiful execution, love the art style

Yword says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Impressive graphics! Maybe you can enhance the feel of attack with some slash effects or camera shake.

demonshanker2 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Nice animations and art! The attacks and walk cycles were very nice.

seantheartist says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:21pm

The art in this is awesome, love the simplicity of it all and game play feels nice.

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Super cool made. Did like to run through that level killing those bugs with a nice swing. "Die!" :D I especially like the mood you create with the visualy. Well done!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:45pm

A very beautiful game! Great art and sound design, love it!

CDK says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:48pm

meh - nice graphic - nice achievement, but the game was pretty boring. might just not be my kind of game. i think i reached the boss quite fast (the necromancer like guy), he was my second enemy so the controls were still pretty new.. but it was indeed pretty

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Just a great looking game :) It was really diffucult, though. And I wasn't sure if timing had any impact on the fighting or if I should just mash the button as much as possible. Could be a neat little action game with some more work.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Wow... these are legitimately the best graphics I've seen so far this jam. The mood is fantastic. Had to give up after a couple of times, though--the sudden mass spider spawning when you get to the first mage got me both times.

I'd like to see a full version of this game... I'm interested in what you could do with more time. Thanks for the experience!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Great artwork. Game reminds me of Hyper Light Drifter which of course is not a bad thing. Good game overall, keep it up.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Amazing graphics and sound, really liked the mood of this. Great work!

ioboi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:14pm

The art and the overall mood of the game is really great !

toranoko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:32pm

graphics were great, feedback from combat was really lacking, some hurt animations and maybe a life meter would help.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Fantastic presentation.

I think the mouse button attacks made the controls pretty awkward. I would recommend going with arrows + Z/X.

jellymann says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Brilliant work of art!

Hob623 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Beautiful graphics. Also, the music really sets the mood.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:00pm

wow! what an awesome looking game! great work at arts and animations! Sounds were awesome too and took the mood to the next level. Very well made!! Hope to see more!

berareu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Fantastic visuals and mood, but combat and collisions are super buggy. Intro was great :)

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Looks good as everyone has pointed out, but honestly it wasn't all that fun (which disappointed me because I thought it would be from the screenshots/description).
First of all it was really hard to navigate. Not only did the camera lag significantly behind the player, there also wasn't any clear distinction between what was a floor tile vs. wall tile, since there wasn't any perspective (except on the decorative items) or consistent color-coding.
As for combat, it was alright but the hitboxes just felt way off and the enemies weren't that interesting. The boss was better, though (but when he killed me, I didn't bother to try again).
Also, I liked the minimalist music, it fit well. The SFX for attacks didn't mesh well with it though.

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13pm

The 8-directional sprite animation looks great. Combat needs some work... I think the attack direction corresponds to the arrow key presses rather than where the mouse cursor is. I mean, it'd be better if the attack and movement directions were separate.

I'd like more health or regenerating health. Also the dark vignette makes it hard to see incoming enemies.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:52pm

The graphics are superb. The best part I felt was the intro, which did a great job establishing the atmosphere for the game. The combat itself was a bit of a let down - the hit detection seemed inconsistent, and there was no indication when you were close to death.

mimic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:57pm

The visuals are really neat and you've set up a great atmosphere but unfortunately the gameplay's a bit bland. The attacks felt like they had no weight to them.

burgerdare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:30pm

This is pretty cool. I'd like to note that the left-click to attack control feels a bit un-intuitive, especially since the direction of your character's attack doesn't shift to face the mouse.

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Due to the wandering, and controls, I found it a bit to onerous to play. I'm wondering why you didn't use a button input for the attack. Using the mouse for an attack kept making me that that I would swing in the direction of the mouse. Excellent visuals, sound, and atmosphere though.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Love this, especially the way it handles injuries the over all style and mood. Kudos, good work!

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:50am

Very nice, and very hyper light drifter influenced I'm assuming.

Erkberg says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:06am

Wow, I really love that artstyle, great job! The gameplay would be smoother if the enemies had a little less hp though.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:18am

Enjoyable, though I hit a mage off of the floor and couldn't kill it. Also, the intro sequence seems a bit unnecessary for the scope of game. Nice style, though.

ehtd says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:04am

Really good game, too bad I died fighting the sith

jujule says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:11am

Very atmospheric. I liked that a lot. It seems I couldn't get the second attack to work. However I tried, only the first attack would get out.
I'd like to see a post comp version of this game.

D2FXRayG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:54am

The graphics and atmosphere is great! Can't get past the first level yet!

iambored2006 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Very Hyper Light Drifter. I liked the fact that the player sprite is 8-directional. A lot of games in this general genre neglect this. However, there are some problems-
* There was a problem with textures appearing above/below other textures. I know it's a bug, but you could say it's a feature (beneath the surface, huh?)
* I'm pretty sure the player moves faster diagonally. This can be fixed easily with normalized vectors.
* I was fighting the boss, and I pushed him off the map, so that I couldn't harm him any more.

May 2, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Graphics are amazing! Mood is amazing!!! Pretty hard, as you know, but would be a little better if I knew where I was going. There could be more unique ground features. Top marks!!!Music is fantastic as well, very 80ies

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Молодцы! Классная игра.
Главный персонаж сильно похож на персонажа из Hyper Light Drifter ;)
Босс очень сложный, сильно не хватает механизма уклонения от ударов, как перекаты или прыжки.
Очень атмосферно!

TomboFry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:24pm

I really like the graphics style, and the animations aren't as bad as you think they are. I like how you haven't included the health bar, it makes the game feel more immersive. I'm terrible at the game, I really want to try and finish it, but I'm not sure how.

May 4, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Nice work with the atmossphere and title-cards!

May 5, 2014 @ 12:14am

Great graphics.

conormn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:18am

Very nice atmosphere, nicely done. Agree with the combat needing some polish.

Garris says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:40am

This art is gorgeous. The combat was a little bit janky, but it worked, and I had a fun time exploring/getting lost. Obviously time constrains don't allow for the level of polish a game like this deserves, but for the time limit, it's very well done, and I'm excited to see where it goes, post ludum dare.

GarethIW says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Looks *really* nice, and could be awesome if made into a full game, but the feel wasn't quite there for it to be fun.

tchem says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Fantastic game man!!!!!,, i loved it in all... the graphics are awesome,, great colour pallete and effects. The atmosphere is very well done, the ambiance and sounds collaborate to the perfect immersion. The best to me.

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:56pm

A bit inspired by Hyper Light Drifter perhaps? Super atmosphere with great graphics, I could *not* get past the mage, which was a shame.

XenosNS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:06am

Looks great, tough game!

Anoarith says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:03pm

You should make a post-compo version with easier controls to attack :)

The game was really beautiful and moody :)

May 14, 2014 @ 6:43am

Nice work all around. Pretty masterful. Gave me an old school Psygnosis vibe... and then the music kicked in!

joe40001 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Interesting, I think I beat it but it just abruptly goes back to the title screen. Good graphics though.

ninjascript says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Great graphics! The enemies kept getting pushed off the map where I couldn't reach them. Other than that, it looks really good.

Teesquared says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Creepy tunes. Nice visuals. I played through it twice and didn't even know it :)

Oye Beto says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:19pm

I liked the art but the level felt very empty. You could try spawning more and weaker enemies.

May 18, 2014 @ 6:08am

Great looking game. Enjoyed the atmosphere and the opening was done really well to set the mood.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]