Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 29

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dweller - MiscEtc - Jam Entry

*game instructions in description*
My first Ludum Dare didn't go as planned, but I was able to turn one of my ideas into a working game, so, I suppose that's something the celebrate. Whoo!

The game is really short and sparce on mechanics, but hopefully its fun... or, at least not terrible...

The premise is that a group of archaeologists and explorers discover the subterranean caverns of an ancient tribe, guarded by an ancient earth demon. So what's the catch? You are that demon.
However, your are bound to earth, and can only move within the ground and rocks.

I'm too tired to put in a tutorial right now, so here are the instructions. They're pretty simple.

1 The game is controled with the mouse
2At the begining of each stage click somewhere in the ground to spawn
3The earth spirit will follow your cursor
4click on nearby rocks to enter them, click on nearby tiles to exit
5Devour all the the Intruders!
R- reset level
M-mute sounds

View MiscEtc's journal. | View all entries by MiscEtc

Ratings

Coolness51%
#34Theme(Jam)3.93
#54Mood(Jam)3.96
#80Audio(Jam)3.81
#89Innovation(Jam)3.71
#166Fun(Jam)3.36
#179Humor(Jam)3.11
#202Overall(Jam)3.46
#440Graphics(Jam)3.21

Comments

ceosol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37am

Nice strategy game. Those poor archaeologists don't see the giant earth squid popping its head up :)

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14am

Great mood, nice art and sounds. Clever puzzle mechanic, good take on the theme.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14am

Cool idea! Eating archeologists is fun

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14am

Great mood with the audio

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:28am

Interesting concept, definitely a cool interpretation of the theme. Good job!

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:29am

Indiana Jones and his Indiana Clones are having a *really* bad day.

bugninja says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:36am

This is fun, unique, dark-yet-funny (scream). I like it a lot, good work.

Frump says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:38am

Really cool! I love the premise of being the earth demon and killing the intruders. Well made.

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:41am

Interesting game mechanic. I really enjoyed hearing the poor explorers scream.

Loneshark says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:42am

Fun! I want to play more levels...

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

It can be a little hard to control, but that was a really creative idea and good take on the theme. Well done :)

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:13pm

The music is good makes me feel like the predator

CoderMusgrove says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Really fun, very scary. o_o

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Cool idea and absolutely great sound music, really generates a foreboding atmosphere. Unfortunately I was able to fall off the edge of a level :-S

zeal says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Cool game concept and the mood just grabs you by the hand. Thumbs up!

May 1, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Awesome mood! Who doesn't want to be an underground demon that moves stealthily through rock?

The controls are a bit difficult. I often had to click a few times for the game to react, and the inertia can be somewhat annoying at times.

But definitely one of my favourites in this LD.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:31pm

The atmosphere of the game was set very well by the music!

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Couldn't load, kept timing out :(

MintArcade says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Cool idea. Eating some funny men which scream like girls when I eat them is funny :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]