Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sub Aquam Adventure

by JimmyBoh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-= Description =-
Gather all the riches the deep blue sea has to offer! Use your mouse OR finger to guide the diver through the water. The deeper the treasure, the more points it's worth, but make sure you don't run out of air!!!


-= Dev Note: =-
I originally planned to have a procedurally generated "maze" of coral, but I spent too much time learning Phaser and trying to be an artist. Overall I am very happy for my first Ludum Dare!


-= Mobile Ready =-
This game is mobile ready, so be sure to tap the fullscreen button and rotate your device. NOTE: iPhone users will not be able to fullscreen due to Apple's lust for money. So blame them.


-= Controls =-
Click & Drag / Finger: Move Diver


-= Tools =-
- Language : Javascript
- Library : Phaser
- Graphic : Inkscape, Paint.net
- Audio : bfxr.net
- Tools: Tiled (Although I never got to implement it)



Please enjoy & thanks for playing!




## Updates:
- Fixed localStorage issues in unsupported browsers.
- Fixed mute so you only have to hit it once.
- Created new Git branch for compo source.
- Created new deployment for post-compo dev.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#362Humor2.74
#528Theme3.30
#679Innovation2.89
#743Fun2.81
#948Audio1.83
#1010Mood2.44
#1046Overall2.66
#1064Graphics2.35

Comments

Rahazan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Graphics are simple, but they got the job done. I often found myself staying too deep for too long, causing me to drown, which was a nice mechanic. Controls were a bit gimmicky.

It would have been nice if the game would end after collecting all the valuables, aside from that, well done!

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:08pm

The controls are a little bit crazy but good idea :)

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Crazy controls are exactly what I was going for! Thanks!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Fun game, fun idea! I like the drowning meter!

Eirikir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34pm

lol. The water sound made me jump ha.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Controls are interesting, but at some times clunky. With a little tweaking they could be perfect! I feel this would make a good mobile app.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Funny game, sort of like lunar lander on acid! Found it very hard to get hang of the controls.

miwuc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:58pm

The physics are pretty comical :) It's a really simple concept but it's easy to cause your own demise by diving just a little too far. The red glow gives a great sense of urgency when you're running out of air.

yetanother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55pm

weeeeeeeeeee

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Thanks for the great feedback everyone!

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02pm

@Figglewatts It should work on most phones, although sometimes Chrome crashes (Android).

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04pm

@Miwuc The splash sound actually changes volume depending on your speed!

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:05pm

The controls are actually made by creating a spring between the diver's head and the arrow. It's very buggy, but also my first time using Phaser and P2.js

Avichal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:57pm

well done, I like the idea, if you improve the physics to a good level , you can get the skill involved to attain the score points with accuracy, that would add to the fun :D

microwerx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:07pm

I like the idea...very neat...treasure hunting while limited by how much air you have. It definitely adds to the dynamic when your greediness overcomes your will to live. I think you should definitely add the coral maze.

Zccc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Really challenging and engaging gameplay despite the presentation. I tried to collect them all but it wasn't easy! I like how you colide with the treasure so you can't be greedy or you can't return to the surface in time!

DanEEStar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:50am

Great game. The movement/steering is preety interesting.
I especially liked the change of the whole display when the air is running out.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:33am

Hi. For about 10 seconds I was disappointed by the lack of any animation on diver.. however... the playability is great, the balance of time left, speed of movement and small things like picking treasure slows you a bit. My favourite thing is the 'performing dolphin style' leap into the air when you surface between dives. Perhaps add some anim and a mixture of treasure/treasure location, maybe some air pockets down below and other content - but keep your excellent playability! Great job!

JimmyBoh says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:31pm

@mrexcessive, I definitely have some ideas for diver animations, specifically spinning arms with full physics! And I had plans for randomly generated coral/rock maze but could not implement it in time. Thanks for the great feedback!

Stuffie says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Haha, the crazy wibbly physics or whatever's going on with the main character are great. Might have been cool to distribute the treasures a little less regularly though.

tompudding says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Hilarious controls + derpy faced man = win

vilya says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:32pm

I like the control scheme you've got for this, it works really well for the game. Good job!

Andrew Adams says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Nice job.

littleball says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Not a bad little game. Well done on learning something new!

loxo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:36pm

The game seems simple at the beginning, but it's fun to play. I think on a touch device will it be even more fun. Character looks good too. But where has superman left his cape? Overall a nice game.

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Items could be placed more randomly and there's a need of some monsters or other things that can kill you, but overall the gameplay is very good.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]