Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Emotion Lord: Within The Heart

by RyotaRaven55 - Jam Entry

~Please read the instructions in game, Best used with a mouse touch pad input doesn't always work~

~Credits~
Art: Rachael Metcalf
Programming: Rachael Metcalf
Music: Icomputech.com
Fountain Model: Archive3D.net

You play as an emotion lord and use people's emotions to unlock a pathway out of the village

This was my first Ludam Dare and my first 3D game. So for what it is i think it came out pretty good :)

If you mess up you can retry from the pause menu (ESC)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#289Innovation(Jam)3.19
#304Audio(Jam)3.20
#401Theme(Jam)3.10
#549Mood(Jam)2.75
#644Overall(Jam)2.68
#693Graphics(Jam)2.33
#702Fun(Jam)2.16

Comments

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50am

Nice music! What did you use to create it?

The mouse sensitivity (firefox) is really high. An option to adjust that might be nice.

Interesting idea, but there didn't seem to be any downside to emotion vision (or upside to having it off).

The bigest problem I found was after I picked up a pink heart 2 or 3 rooms in, the only way to move forwards was with a blue heart, and I couldn't get rid of the pink heart. I tried putting the pink heart back, and trying to grab a blue heart, but neither approach seemed to get rid of the emotion.

RyotaRaven55 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:54am

Yeah I tried adjusting the Mouse sensitivity so maybe I should adjust it more, but with the emotion comment sorry, but with the way I made the game that's the only real challenge in game. so sorry but it's gonna stay like that :P you can retry from the pause menu

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Yeah, I also had pretty sensitivity with the mouse (OSX / Chrome)... and I didn't read the instructions the first time, so it may have been nice to include in-game instructions (d'oh).

Looked nice though and I enjoyed the music!

mollymus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Seems like there's a bit of gameplay missing, I think the idea is good but I would've expected more challanging puzzles somehow. Not sure if that could be done with the current mechanics though:7

RyotaRaven55 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Yeah sorry. I wanted to have more challenging puzzles but it would've been more time to impliment so I didnt have time :( But thanks for the input!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Weird and interesting choice of game concept!

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Very good Music and nice idea. I got quite far, but could not finish due to my problems with motionsickness in 3D-Games. At the end it felt like a walking simulator with some memory game. Well done especially for your first 3D-Game

noom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:44am

Neat concept, I felt like I was stealing souls though, not copying emotions. I really liked the soundtrack, good job there. I felt un-challenged though, I would have liked to be able to do more with the souls...I mean emotions, other than just unlocking doors. I think you could take this concept and mold it into quite a good game if you put some more time and thought into core game mechanics.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:44am

Clever idea of beneath the surface.

shadow64 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:51am

I thought this was a really nice entry. I'm surprised it doesn't have more ratings to speak for it. I think you did a really great job of tackling the theme from an original angle. I like the gameplay and I think this would be a really fun game on its own or a cool minigame in an RPG. I don't know if I'd do the 3D aspect of it, it seems too much for what is a really minimal style of gameplay.

I also think that you might want to add some way of giving an emotion back to the person you took it from or trading emotions. I don't think it would be very hard to program and would allow you to make simple mistakes that you can fix.

For instance: I made it all the way to the gate, but I thought the orange was red. I took a red emotion and when I went back and realized my mistake, I couldn't do anything about it. That seemed a little unfair and if I'm truly a "Lord of Emotions" I should be able to at least put the emotion back where I found it, right? As it was I couldn't put down the wrong emotion or get rid of it so I would've had to restart and getting to the gate just wasn't compelling enough to make that happen.

In short: Create a stronger end goal, simplify your graphical style so that you can focus on the awesome game mechanic, and let the player put down emotions/destroy them/trade them.

Thanks for making this! :D

RyotaRaven55 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:24am

Thanks for all the feedback! I appreciate it. This was my first time making a 3D game and I chose that because I have never worked with 3D or Unity much before and I wanted a good opportunity to learn it. As a result the game isn't as fleshed out as it could be and I cut some corners so I may continue working on the game to add in some of the cool ideas people have been suggesting thanks you guys :)

Figglewatts says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Nice concept, seemed pretty innovative to me.

mark.goetz says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:52am

I like your interpretation of the theme - the idea of reading people's emotions and stealing them is a neat one, and the music suits the location. I did run into the same problem where if you accidentally take the wrong emotion, it seems to lead to a failure state. I also had some performance issues on my computer. Anyway, nice job getting your first one done, and I think if you built this mechanic out it could be very interesting!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]