Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Global Freezing

by oostap - Jam Entry

This game is time manager with small economic feature. Evil professor froze the planet, so your mission is to save as many people as possible. You can buy three different items:
Rockets - each bought rocket immediately fly away saving 100 people. Try to send out as many rockets as possible.
Satellites - can warm freeze points on planet surface, to avoid decreasing population. You should point it to freeze manually.
Mines - give you more money per second.
Use this three features to save people! (tip: you should place satellite to freeze point by your finger).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#45Graphics(Jam)4.42
#84Overall(Jam)3.72
#106Audio(Jam)3.71
#129Innovation(Jam)3.59
#136Fun(Jam)3.44
#203Humor(Jam)3.03
#247Theme(Jam)3.41
#272Mood(Jam)3.26

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Awesome job ! Graphics are just amazing and I love the idea and its execution ! Well done :D

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Oh man i wish i had some android device! This looks stunning.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

I really dig the graphics! Good job!

mactinite says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Great graphics, the gameplay is interesting. I like the idea, could definitely go for fleshing it out. :)

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Graphic and animations are great ,gameplay is boring. But it's cool that you used Android as platform.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Good job! Really like the graphics

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Lookin' good, but my android device is dead :(

magnpeas says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Nice graphics!

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Original idea, awesome graphics, good audio, addictive gameplay: I set 5* everywhere.

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Really good game, graphics are awesome. Gameplay is quite fun and addictive. I think the game has a too short time limit.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Gorgeous visuals and fun gameplay. Directing the satellites is very satisfying. Great soind too. A bit short and hard though. Is it possible to save more than 200 people?

MarsBar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:32am

Really nice artwork, fun addictive gameplay... I sorta hate you guys for having such a good game XD (I don't actually hate you, I'm just impressed with how shiny it looks) Well done team oostap!

GagaPete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:41pm

This has been created in 72 hours? Incredible!

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:22am

Great graphics

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:28am

OMG incredible graphics! We almost had the same idea (at least for the presentation), but your game definitely looks better and more fun than mine XD Congrats guyz!!!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:28pm

android only )- :

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:22pm

I like the idea of this game haha, the graphics are amazing, and I think i would be keeping this in my Android when i get bored. I did notice a freeze in the game when i try buying something, i mean Literal Freezing as in the game stopped. I dunno what caused that but i think its because of the opening sequence. Maybe it was just my phone but congratulations on making this in such a short time :D

timtipgames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Amazingly polished and good looking. Plays very well and I enjoyed it a lot!

urisensei says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Really loved this one, good art, good concept, great execution. Good job!

Nelly says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:06pm

OMFG!!!!!!! Amazing!!! 5/5!!

May 6, 2014 @ 12:04am

Amazing graphics! Everything is so polished!! <3

May 7, 2014 @ 12:08am

Totally addicting, been playing it for the last 20 minutes! Stopped just to write this comment... I feel it beckoning me now!! Must save all the peoples!

MidCry says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:08am

Brilliant game ... could use more gesture things but still great casual design ... Awesome aesthetics .

May 7, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Android-only? Bold move!

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Lookin' good, but I do not have a Android device.

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Love the art.

phi says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:13pm

I love the graphics. The control mechanisms are well adapted to android. Worked flawlessly.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]