Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Any ship can be a MINESWEEPER... Once.

by tehryanx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: Left and Right to move, Down to fire

Run out the clock and aim carefully. If a charge reaches the bottom without killing anyone you lose points :P

EDIT: if you find the charges sink waaaay too slow: That's a bug, and it only happens on some machines. :( Sorry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#78Audio3.70
#101Humor3.49
#314Graphics3.57
#332Theme3.52
#427Fun3.16
#459Overall3.27
#499Mood3.05
#778Innovation2.75

Comments

kevincorrigan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31am

Nice Game, I absolutely love the sound effects, very nice.

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23am

The hand drawn art is fantastic. The song at the end is a great touch. :)

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39am

Zip file isn't opening ? Can you please check it ?

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47am

False Alarm. Was an issue with Chrome! However, when i play game on win 7 it says its incompatible..!! :(

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:22pm

One of the best LD games i played so far

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36pm

IN THE NAAAAVVVY!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Great sound and art.

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Love it! Sound effects and graphics (both the of the sailor guy and the onomatopoeic stuff) are brilliant.

And the In the Navy cover just made it for me.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Hahahaha, That song at the end, well done. :D
I also like the explosion sound effect, it was all pretty cool. :D

Spit Tex says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:48pm

love it, great gameplay and sound effects make me laugh so much.

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:24pm

I like the controls, they are really solid. The sound is funny and get annoying slower than you'd think.

Zccc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

It's funny how the waves get enormous after an explosion xD Nice way to fire the charges!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:21am

Tried to run it on Linux Mint 64bit, here is the error I got: conf.lua:3: attempt to index field 'window' (a nil value)
Error: main.lua:26: attempt to index field 'window' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
main.lua:26: in function 'load'
[string "boot.lua"]:378: in function <[string "boot.lua"]:373>
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

Feel free to contact me @tinyworlds if you need further information.

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:01pm

SFX are 5/5

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:51pm

I really love it. Fine sound and art.

RadioLemon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Loved the music and sound effects!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:54pm

I love the art and sound effects in this game! Great job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:22am

Absolutely loved the music and sound effects!

TobiasW says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Hahaha, the smile when you win... C:

The sound and visual effects are awesome! Also, that probably wasn't intended, but after I first lost, the "In the Navy" song carried over to the game. And that was PERFECT. I don't care if it was accidential, you get five humor stars for this. (Is that you singing?)

All in all, pretty cool if somewhat hard game. Good job!

Kevlanche says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:49pm

In the navy! Simple game but fun

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:56pm

nice sounds effects and graphics !

Fragsteel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Nice controls! And the audio is awesome. :) The up-and-down of the water also added a nice touch. Good job!

DonovanWu says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:42pm

The background music is awesome!

kibertoad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Ahahaha, those sound effects and bonus song were hilarious.

meszka says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Nice explosions and great song :) Gameplay is pretty solid too. It takes some skill to predict where the bomb will end up.

dcolgan says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Love the mouth sound effects. Also cool rippling water and a solid game mechanic. Nicely done!

May 11, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Really nice water effect! I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series! :) http://youtu.be/7oB_8pUypJo

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]