Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drill Diver

by MithosKuu - Jam Entry

This was our first serious attempt at a project, and even with the handicap of most of us having actual jobs eating up our last day I think we did alright.

Sadly a major bug with jumping popped up right as the lead programmer had to leave, forcing us to drastically alter level design and enemy placement at the last minute just to make it playable with the bug, needless to say we were heartbroken.

This is definitely a project we are going to go back and severely polish up in our own time, nearly all of the mechanics are there, but we ran out of time before we could really test and fine tune the levels, but all in all, we are very proud of what we managed to accomplish in a scant two hours time with near zero experience.

I cannot verify if the OS/X or Linux builds will work
If at any point you become stuck, hitting ENTER will reset you to your last checkpoint
Hitting ESC while in gameplay will return you to the Title Screen

Arrow Keys, Left Stick, or D-Pad to Move
Space or (A) to Jump
Shift, LB, or (X) to Boost
D, RB, or (B) to Attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#667Graphics(Jam)2.50
#700Theme(Jam)2.21
#701Overall(Jam)2.44
#727Mood(Jam)1.89
#731Fun(Jam)2.00
#759Innovation(Jam)1.74
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

virtualtoy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:32am

I see main menu (like on the screenshot), but game won't start

MithosKuu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Oops, title screen was looking for a button input that didn't exist, serves me right for only testing with a controller, all the builds linked here have been updated to fix this issue, any further updates will be uploaded elsewhere to preserve the integrity of judging.

meszka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:10pm

The controls are a bit hard to get the hang of (though I think they feel better on a controller). Jumping is not very responsive, but I guess that's because of the bug you mentioned. On the plus side I really liked the enemy sprites, that's some nice style :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:54pm

The game feels very unresponsive... :(

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:00pm

I think this needs a tutorial - I didn't really understand what I was expected to do, or how to do it. I was playing on the keyboard & found I couldn't jump while moving, although could move during a jump, which was a bit weird.

I'd suggest next time getting your keyboard and/or mouse controls working first: not everyone who plays it will have a controller, but everyone's guaranteed to have a mouse & keyboard.

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:11am

Bad controls killed this one. Jumps are unresponsive, the dash doesn't consistently work, and there's not enough feedback to tell you what you can actually do.

ocmu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:14am

I really liked your art design and some of the more complex enemy concepts. The controls really needed to be more fluid for a platformer though. And one-hit-death is pretty unforgiving : )

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:51am

Coolest main menu and logo Ive seen! couldnt quite figure out what to do though :(

XenosNS says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Not bad for 2 hours. Liked the little driller robot. With some tuning the controls would be real nice.

zaratustra says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Sorry to hear about your problems. Hope your next game is all it can be!

Yword says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Nice try! I like the drill attack ^-^

Nichii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Nice game, although audio and sound effects would be highly appreciated. One thing when you get extra boost though, I over shot and got stuck on the wall multiple times. The controls were clunky and it's hard to make the character jump. Also, I have not met some of the enemies, and I almost never had to confront the Boss... I just boosted past her and I won.

Overall, I am so sorry that things went wrong at the last minute. We always have another chance right? :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]