Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fuel Me Once

by 4026 - Jam Entry

Drive a pickup truck about the desert! Strike Oil! Get Rich! Shop (awkwardly) for stuff!

An Xbox 360 controller will probably improve your experience with Fuel Me Once, but it's not required.


Controls:

Left Analogue Stick - Drive the truck with absolute controls (like a twin stick shooter).

WASD or Arrow keys - Drive the truck with relative controls (like the old GTAs)

Right Analogue Stick or Mouse - Position targeting reticule.

A Button or Q - Launch detector ball
X Button or E - Launch drill
B Button or Spacebar - Trigger scan pulse from all detectors.

Left Trigger - Brakes, or reverse if you're already stopped.

Back or R - Restart
Start or Esc - Quit (Only useful for the Windows build)


Tips / Mechanics:

Detectors will emit a "ping" if their scan pulse passes over an oil deposit, and the pulse will leave a green ring behind indicating the range of the deposit from the detector. By combining the information from multiple detectors, you can pinpoint exactly where to target your drill.

A drill that is dropped correctly onto an oil deposit will start to produce oil! Carry oil in your spare inventory slots back to the shop to sell it for cash. The price of oil generally increases over time, and drops slightly every time you sell some of your stocks, so pick your moment to get the best price.

You start with 3 detectors, 1 drill and $50. Detectors can be bought in packs of 3 for $5, but another drill will set you back $100. If you miss with your first drill, you'll not be able to afford another, so make sure you're certain before picking your first drill site.

Make as much cash as you can before the time runs out!


Background / Caveats:

- My First Unity Project.
- My First Ludum Dare.
- It should be immediately clear to everyone that I'm no artist.
- Relatedly, inventory icons come from http://game-icons.net/
- Sounds courtesy of sfxr and freesound.org. I'm no sound engineer, either.
- If you manage to flip your truck / get stuck, wait three seconds and you should find yourself unceremoniously righted and flung into the air. If that doesn't happen, or if that fails to unstick you, you'll have to resort to the reset button.
- Because the oil deposits are BENEATH THE SURFACE, do you see?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#147Innovation(Jam)3.52
#303Theme(Jam)3.29
#325Overall(Jam)3.29
#338Mood(Jam)3.11
#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#393Audio(Jam)3.00
#514Graphics(Jam)3.00
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

Chinchilla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13am

Woooo! $2096, I am an oil prospecting badman.

Took me about 3 goes to get the hang of the controls on keyboard without catching myself dangling over a ramp.

Overall, pretty awesome. Splitscreen multiplayer?

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:15pm

I liked the graphics a lot, and it's a nice idea. Driving felt too clunk to me. I'd like to play this if I moved around a lot faster :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:52pm

The cross-hair thing didn't follow the mouse correctly. Fix that and It will really improve the game.

porglezomp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:56pm

I fired a whole lot of the detectors, but I never found anything. I agree that the driving felt weird (I don't think I could drive backwards while on the platform?) but it seems like it could be fun.

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Very good! I love the mechanic of triangulation, really adds a cool level of deduction to the game. I'm not sure there are any new things beyond the basics, but if there were new toys, now source of wealth, new... Whatever, stuff, I'd really love to see it go multiplayer too :)

Yes the driving is too clunky and I often get stuck by the platform... Which is a huge pain to get on to and then an even bigger pain to reach the stuff to buy.

Other than that - congrats on your first LD! It was my first one too XD

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Great pun ;)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:07pm

I do like this game a lot. However I was never able to finish a game because I kept getting stuck on the geometry of the center platform.

MSaul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:19pm

That remind me a minigame of ff7 (don't know it intented). The target not suit the mouse it's a bit disturbing. Often when i get stuck on corners of the platform, the reset make me spawn at the same place (so i stay stuck). Great game overall, i like this idea.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Very nice game, I like the way the truck is moving, the mechanics is very well implemented ! Like Waezone explained, hiding the mouse cursor would be a good idea! It's really easy to do, in the player preferences, build settings, resolution, No context menu.

I really nice the way the physics work in your game. Great work !

hanoth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Cool idea

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Simple and fun :)

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Really cool, coulda used more time, my one well made more oil than I could transport so there wasn't much impetus to find more than one.
the xbox controller option was completely useless, keys were ace.

May 3, 2014 @ 11:13am

at the edge of the map the car was crazy. Btw, good game

flavio says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:39am

I took me about 15 minutes to really understand how it works, and then after drilling some oil the game finished because the "globe warm" or something like that ! 1,500 dollars I got. It looks like it could be a lot of fun if the game was polished ! I liked the sound of the detector in the sand ! I also liked the old GTA controls, even if it can be a bit annoying sometimes.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]