Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underground

by Nnoel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An underground shooter that involves dodging your enemies as you attempt to dig downward. Descend downward through multiple floors, trying to stay alive from monsters! How far down can you go?

Had fun putting this together, although there was a lot more that I wanted to add. I would've added in more enemies and power-ups, but I'm happy with the result as is.

--Controls--
WASD to move
E for action
Left mouse to shoot
Right mouse to dig
E to restart (after you die)

Game made in Gamemaker Studio.
Sound effects made in bfxr.
Music made in cgMusic.

--Edit--
Made the sound a lot more tolerable

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#213Fun3.48
#289Overall3.46
#473Theme3.35
#534Audio2.81
#719Humor2.21
#783Innovation2.74
#852Mood2.65
#879Graphics2.65
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Nice work! Made it to about level ten (and a palette change) before promptly dying. A nice piece o' work.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Solid entry ! I really enjoyed it :D (the earthworms look like the sandworm in my game ^^)

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Simple but fun. I like that the unlockable items have pros and cons, so you decide which to use, making each run different. Great job!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53pm

There's a lot of games on here, but not necessarily a lot that keep you interested in playing for very long. I enjoyed progressing the several levels before finally getting clobbered. The music also went well with it. The gun fires a bit slowly, but since you implemented the upgrades mechanic then that wouldn't be an issue. That upgrade aspect would definitely keep people playing, to see what they could unlock next I also kind of wish jump was on spacebar, but that's probably more of a personal thing. It definitely has potential from here. Good work!

Nnoel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:23pm

So I went went back and wondered what happened since I did recall adding an upgrade to shoot faster. Turns out I forgot to put a break statement...
Thanks for playing the game

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Awesome game! :D Really good gameplay.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Great gameplay, one of the better ideas I've seen so far. I love the urgency of trying to focus on digging deeper while keeping yourself alive. Nice job!

hexabeast says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:05am

Worms look like terraria ones ;)
Good job!

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:44am

Simply amazing. Fun to play. I made it to round 15 where the gigaworm appeared before finally being taken out. it was a ton of fun. Well done!

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:05am

Very cool; I liked how ridiculous my weapon got as I applied every upgrade I could get my hands on. Some kinda hit effects would've helped the clarity of what was going on a bit but I had a lot of fun with this.

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06am

Really great RPG-ish mechanics (kinda reminded me of terraria).
The enemies seem to take forever to die initially and are somewhat irritating (since they do respawn and all), but I imagine that could just be fixed with more polished/tweaked stats.

Also sound got really loud when there were a lot of worm-guys on the screen.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:31am

Challenging gameplay ! Love it :D

gene-z says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:31am

Nice Work guy... Good Game

Logan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:34am

Ha, I recognized the cgMusic-generated song instantly! I didn't know anybody else used that thing!

I really enjoyed the tradeoff nature of the upgrades. I got to level 17 by the time I died, and had picked up every upgrade I could get to. And ended up with a multi-splitting, multi-piercing, multi-exploding monstrosity of a weapon that knocked me back faster than I could run.

And I'd have it no other way!

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:06am

Very cool. Really good work on the upgrade system. You did a good job on this.

At first I didn't know you could press right click to dig, not sure if there's an easier way to address that to players who are stunned like me. One thing that was a huge problem was I kept clicking off screen and losing focus of the game. The difficulty ramp was also too slow at first and then too steep for me. Died on the second or third yellow level.

I think this game would work really well in the metroidvania genre. if you were to continue making it, consider how you could mix in digging and upgrades with exploration rather than just having the same repetitive action levels.

DrMelon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Reminded me a little of Risk of Rain. Has a good feel to it, would like to see a more polished version of it!

jujule says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:35pm

I enjoyed this a lot. The controls are very responsive and that's the most important. I like the mood the music sets. It could be a little bit easier in the first 2 or 3 stages.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:47pm

I'm amazed that you were able to make this game in 48 hours, but in my book it's not cool to clone unreleased games. http://www.indiedb.com/games/shovel-kings

Anyway, the gameplay is functional but lacks a lot of feedback and visual flavor.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]