Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

LLOYD

by danialhyatt - Jam Entry

A point and click adventure/not a fishing game.

A man on an island asks you to bring him 33 fish.

My first Ludum Dare entry and pretty much first "finished" game ever.

Controls:
Mouse (both buttons!)

Made using:
Game Maker Studio
sfxr
Reason

Enter to switch between fullscreen and windowed mode (Mac)
Alt+Enter on Windows

Warning (EPILEPSY), in case it concerns you, certain sections of this game contain intense flashing visuals.

Also (LANGUAGE) there'll be some foul language in there.

Hope you enjoy the game!
CTRL=33

Art, Music and Story by Amman Mushtaq
Code and Game Design by Danial Hyatt.

V2: I fixed a misaligned sprite (totally a typo)
V3: Changed the default splash screen and icons for both platforms ^ _ ^
V4: Fixed all bugs mentioned in comments so far!
V5: Added Web port! Hopefully, this is it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#66Mood(Jam)3.89
#195Humor(Jam)3.06
#203Graphics(Jam)3.82
#228Audio(Jam)3.38
#321Innovation(Jam)3.11
#337Theme(Jam)3.23
#398Overall(Jam)3.16
#627Fun(Jam)2.41

Comments

kivifreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40am

try removing the fullscreen option in OS / X, because i couldn't run it :/

danialhyatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Thanks kivifreak, I made the update. Press enter to switch between windowed and fullscreen. The mac version starts windowed now for safe measure.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:48am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This was interestingly surreal with great art (love that walk cycle on the main character), but next time please give an epilepsy warning.

Also, I don't know if there were multiple endings? The one I got really didn't seem to make much sense.

lyla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:59am

Loved the art and music and was getting in to it when...well the torn up map from the second bottle seemed stuck on the screen. I tried smoking some cigarettes to calm myself down and then the whole game crashed.

danialhyatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:03am

Thank you for playing and for the feedback, Vector and lyla! The bugs have been fixed, epilepsy warning accentuated in the notes, and an HTML port is in place now.

There's only one ending but there are a few ways to get to it, and a bunch of messages, some of which are hints about the story, but they're picked randomly so you probably won't see them on every playthrough.

Danman9914 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:23pm

33 is a very large number! But I stuck it out because I was intrigued by the story. Then I get a pack of cigarettes and am told to catch 33 more? I think you need to consider that people doing a Game Jam have less of a commitment to an individual game and probably don't have the patience for 66+ fish.

That said, I LOVED the mood (5 stars) and the story is interesting. I wish I knew how it ended but I don't have superhuman patience :(

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Really great art!

danialhyatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Thanks for your feedback blockbot and Danman9914!

I agree that 33 is a huge amount of fish to catch. However, the sinking feeling in your stomach when told to catch another 33 is absolutely intentional. I hate to spoil anything, but Lloyd won't stop asking you for fish, especially if you keep going out there and getting them for him.

Who would?

We considered reducing that number, but if we did then maybe all of this wouldn't occur to the player in the same light, and force them to want to find another way through. Did you try actually clicking on the pack of BOSS cigarettes?

Let me also just say that you can play the whole game to the end without ever catching 33 fish (but you're probably still going to catch them on the first playthrough)

Nobody ever has to catch 66 fish to beat this game. the number is much < 66

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Yeah, far too much sitting around and fishing. Knowing that I just had to keep doing it to find the thing from the second bottle, I started spamming and stopped reading. I understand what you were going for, but frustration and annoyance broke the atmosphere entirely.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:58pm

I like the way the art style set the mood here.

danialhyatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Thanks for your feedback, Empyrealhell. Unfortunately I know what you're talking about a little too well. It would've been nice to add more interactions during fishing but we were low on time. To people going through comments before playing, once you have found a bottle, press the CTRL key to have 33 fish. I hid that secret in the text you may angrily skip :)

iiechapman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Very great atmosphere in this one. I loved the minimal graphic style. It reminded me of "Out of the world". Overall a very cool experience!

lyla says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:25pm

@danialhyatt for what it's worth, I think if the audience weren't folks from the game compo trying to quickly rate as many games as possible, it's not too crazy to expect them to stick with it. The mood does draw you in and I could tell there was more to the game from the little tidbits of story being thrown out in the text. A little calm, interactive fishing mechanic (besides just waiting) would probably be all it needs for the more impatient. I do want to try this again and might get to it after I finish trying to rate as many games as possible.

Penguincat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Really nice atmosphere. The ending was a little confusing, but the snippets of story throughout (when you fish or smoke) were great.

Rabbits... says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:16am

fairly repetitive, but the sparkling of the ocean made me smile.

FrameMatt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:19am

I really enjoy it.

blahoink says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:29am

really amazingly surreal with incredible mood. not enough gameplay though

noom says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:35am

Try as I might I couldnt progress the story past the cigarette packet.

King_Mew says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:40am

Amazing mood, but a bit boring and confusing. I got stuck after the second bottle.

danialhyatt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:15pm

thanks for the feedback everybody! lyla, MunkeeBacon, iiechapman, Penguincat, Rabbits..., FrameMatt, blahoink, noom and King_Mew

jujule says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Very good.
The hint was pretty obvious and made the game very enjoyable with a good pace. I find the comment about how long one can commit to try one game stupid anyways.
An impressive entry for a first LD. Good job.

poxpoxpox says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:56pm

nice sounds!

ioboi says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Super relaxing game :) Good job!

baboum says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Wow, a really pleasant game! The mood is great

2HitAdam says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:39pm

This is great! Absolutely loved it, fished until the messages started to repeat themselves just because I was enjoying reading them and the mood in general (though, I'm a writer, so I guess I'm a little more partial to the nuance and repetition than most gamers would be haha). I came away feeling there was more I could have done at the final confrontation, but didn't? Is there only one ending?

danialhyatt says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:26am

Thanks for playing and the feedback jujule, poxpoxpox, ioboi, baboum and 2HitAdam!

DannyG59 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:32pm

fucking great

copain says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Really graphics, and nice puzzles. Some bugs (when you use the map to quit and return to the cave, you keep the old positions in the cave...) But good game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]