Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crazy Virus

by Lunatic - Jam Entry

Crazy Virus
Want to know what happens beneath your skin surface? You have a chance to try yourself as a virus and see it with your own eyes!

Controls
Left Click to Jump

Some useful advice:
Avoid other viruses. When bumping into them you'll mutate!

Try not to touch vain walls
Collect leucocytes to heal yourself

Creators:
Ivan Murashka
Vladimir Denisik
Nikita Papkov
Octopus Grandiozus
Luni Saar
Svietlana Kostjukevitch

Music by: Kevin MacLeod http://incompetech.com/music/
SFX: FreeSound https://www.freesound.org
Visual Effects: FT Free Sample

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#125Graphics(Jam)4.09
#173Audio(Jam)3.50
#198Humor(Jam)3.05
#216Fun(Jam)3.26
#225Theme(Jam)3.46
#258Overall(Jam)3.38
#283Mood(Jam)3.24
#598Innovation(Jam)2.51

Comments

foolmoron says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Web link crashes :/

Lunatic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

"Web link crashes :/"
sorry, fixed.

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:10pm

The web link is not working for me. The graphics in this game are nice and I liked your interpretation of the theme.

callum.thepro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Absolutely love it, such a good game!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:12pm

49! Very flappy :D Looks gorgeous too!

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Very cool game! It was funny. Great graphics

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Nice game! Theme was well applied. Although I think it's way too difficult. Most of the time you can't avoid getting hit.
By the way, I get an error when I try to open the Web version.

wespaugh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:21pm

The game is quite difficult, but it's a good spin on the flappy trend with awesome art. Well done.

Christophe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Really cool !

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Interesting variation on that mechanic, enjoyed the sounds - a bit too fast and too hard (sometimes, you just cant pass enemies). Really nice look and cool take on the theme.

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Very cool. Sweet graphics.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Nice runner, I recognize a lot of the music. Cool graphics, too.

Zerod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:30pm

reminds my of Flappy Birds :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:35am

good fun! i wasn't very good, but really wanted to see how far the mutations could go so kept trying.

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:41am

Hah! Very nice!

Brodenino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43am

I instantly thought of flappy birds because of the jump physics. I prefer this game though, as it has more variation, and more interesting graphics, and some catchy music. It was difficult, but fun :)

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:32am

Really well executed, beautiful intro screens. One of the the best soundtracks i've heard so far. Liking the virus mutations!

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:59am

Very flappy!

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Love the art style. The game has great flavor. Tough game, but I enjoyed it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:45pm

crazy good game. nice job

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Hi. Web link worked okay for me Chrome/W7. Flappy virus ! Like the graphic style.

TeamInCharge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:04pm

The music is awesome!! Just die and keep listening to the music, totally worth it :D I'd play the game even longer if the music wouldn't restart everytime I die, which is all the time, lol. Not your fault, I'm just not so good at the flappy games ;)

lasagnegames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:31am

Lot of fun but a bit too derivative from Flappy Bird.

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Fun game! A little bit hard for my skills haha Although the art is awesome, the in game art doesn't match the cutscene's art.

May 3, 2014 @ 11:21am

A little too hard, but good idea and game

XenosNS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Looks great, good job

mrbungle says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:03am

Cool twist on the Flappy Bird mechanic with sweet graphics and sound. Like its influence, pretty damn difficult as well!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]