Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under

by zanenga - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are trying to find the Final Boss, but it seems he went on a trip somewhere.

Gameplay:
- You have a triple jump!
- You can Dash!
- Dash counts as a jump (2 dashes, 2 jumps or 1 of each on air)

Controls:
AD or Arrows to Move
K or Up to Jump
L or Space to Dash

Alternative links for Web, Source and Windows can be found here:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/718qlf3gwqle1xb/AAChROrXH5WDMTufGuG2dt1Ha?m=

*Update*
Just made a very simple update. It includes the following:

- Fixed a bug in the "default dash" (before any input), it now goes to the right, as it should.
- Fixed a bug in the angular velocity of the player (it was making the character, sometimes, go slightly to the right or left without input from the player).
- Fixed the bouncy arrows (they were a little bit faster than intended)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#123Fun3.66
#147Overall3.68
#163Mood3.57
#230Humor3.04
#292Audio3.18
#450Theme3.38
#526Innovation3.10
#639Graphics3.03

Comments

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:58am

Nice job, fellow first timer:) Pretty fun, although I couldnt get past the level with the spikes on the top and bottom, and three on the right...But I enjoyed it untill then:), also maybe the boost should be in combination with direction keys, it feels odd to jump up and shoot backwards. But really fun!:)
(also thats a pretty slick title screen:D)

I think thats all, this is the second time I've typed this (internet crapped out the first time....)
Nice job!

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29am

Thank you very much! I noticed exactly the same thing when my dad tried to play it (but it was already submited...)! The dash actually is in combination with que direction keys, but left is the default. On that stage you usually escape from the tripple arrows only by jumping, so when you try to dash the first time, you go to the left. Anyway, thank you for playing it and giving feedback, it means a lot!

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53am

It's moody. The difficult curve needs some improvement.

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06am

Dangerous down votes hehe nice gameplay

Hempuli says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07am

I liked the general feel of it, and loved how the arrows bounced off the main character. The musics and graphics were also nice. The dash felt slightly buggy in that oftentimes if I had performed a couple jumps, I couldn't dash at all while sometimes it worked without problems. Also the player character seemed to slide around on its own at times. A neat game!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08am

LOOOOVE that title screen man! :D Overall, really really cool.

Ran into some things where I thought that a checkpoint would be nice halfway through the room.

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

This was great! not sure if it was meant to be funny but... dat lever...

porousnapkin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22am

Love this game. It's SO HARD! I gave up after spending fifteen minutes on the reflecting arrows level with the key. I got close multiple times but couldn't seal it. Had a lot of fun trying though. I think the arrows probably move a bit too quick. They feel just over the limit of reasonable.

Very fun. Good job.

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58am

Thanks guys! I'm very glad you like it :)

I can see now some things that I could do to improve it or make it a little bit easier. Playtesting would have helped as well...

jaxonf92 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52am

My favourite game so far :)

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54am

very nice, and extremely challenging! love it :)

headchant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26am

The hitboxes were a bit unclear to me and made it at times difficult. Impressive amount of content for a 48 hour game.

indigofiz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:44am

I had fun playing it, but the arrows bouncing is just too hard for me (or I didn't try hard enough lol). But still, great game! And great title screen!

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

This was a nice game. I found the game-play to be pretty solid but the difficulty was a little too up and down. The visuals where great and the audio was nice. I really liked the story too, it was pretty funny and the little cutscenes were a nice touch. Great work!

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39pm

There was a problem with the character drifting after moving.

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Well done

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Good job - but I couldn't get past the spike level. Good atmosphere and pace.

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Lovely game kinda hard but really enjoyable

tayl1r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Yay, Dizzy movement options!

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:44pm

First LD game I finished! Really enjoyed myself, good job mate!

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Pretty fun, would love to see some graphic updates at some point, keep working on it!

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:17am

Nice concept. The puzzles were fun and the backstory was cute. Definitely did a good job of making simple assets look great.

zanenga says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:38am

Thanks for the feedback guys! I just made a very small update, fixing some of the bugs/issues that you pointed out. "Patch notes" on the description.

PS: you are allowed to fix bugs right? I asked on twitter and it seemed to be ok. Also, I've found games that made simple patches as well. I'm sorry, but this is my first Ludum Dare so I get very nervous about these rules. :/

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:42am

Loved how the ball moves. Reminded me of Megaman X4. Hated the music though.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:57am

Cool game. A like a good dash, and this one felt really nice. The hitboxes seemed a bit off though, and the slow death response made it all a bit unclear. I got over it though, and had a fun time.

Spotline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:43am

Great mood and level design, very fluid for a jam game, well done !

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Awesome work !
so hard, but really cool game !

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Awesome! Great game.

stigmawall says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:41am

The game overall is very good, and the firsts screens is very beautiful. Some implementations and bug fizes need, but the game is very polished.
Just one think that makes me mad - the feedback when I die. Sometimes I just be hitted, nothing happens and then the level restart.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:30am

Very cool, the gameplay is amazing!!! Great job! is very hard =D

zanenga says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:47am

Yeah... On the rush of the 48 hours I forgot to put an explosion or some visual feedback of death. My mistake. I wish I could patch that, but I believe that would be against the rules...

kamend says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:09am

Awesome! Reminds me of the game 140, I guess it's an inspiration :) Thanks for the source code

lukepilgrim says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:09pm

great mood and challenging

StudioWolfox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:43pm

it has a story! yay! I liked the puzzles, and the green trampoline thingies are fun :) nice one

pedro.thiers says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:54pm

gotta say: I didn't expected much at first. But the puzzles were very entertaining and kept me in. The ending is very nice too. Good job!

May 6, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Nice game, fun to play I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, If you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/xKijfGbEYtc

conormn says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:05am

Geez thats a hard one! Really great potential tho. I don't normally get into difficult platformers, but this was super fun. Thanks for making it :)

Zccc says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Thank you for the great experience :) I didn't really understood the story behind, but still a very fun, challenging and enjoyable game, good job!

May 17, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Excellent mood on this one, it has a pleasantly creepy atmosphere. The minimalistic graphics are quite nice. Also really digging the music, it reminded me of Aphex Twin's ambient stuff.

GFM says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:43pm

The game was really fun. :)

I liked a lot that it's cyclical, though it's quite easy and short.

The graphics were nice and minimalistic... but I think the background should be more contrasting with the platforms. But lighting everything around the player was a nice addition.
Audio was really good! The music was simple, but nice, and the sfx added a lot to the game.

Good job. :)

binasa says ...
Jun 30, 2017 @ 5:45pm

A to Z Mysteries are fast-paced, collectible mysteries for beginning chapter book readers! http://downloadstuffplease.net It lists modifiable and non-modifiable stroke risk factors.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]