Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Ice

by crewderek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hahahaha, man I almost didn't make it! Definitely was a ton of fun! :) Exported for web, windows, linux, and OS/X!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#393Graphics3.41
#424Theme3.41
#431Mood3.13
#483Humor2.53
#484Audio2.88
#544Overall3.19
#596Innovation3.00
#856Fun2.67
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06am

Kindof reminded me of Zelda puzzles... I love The Legend Of Zelda!

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07am

Slightly confusing. The text hints were helpful though. Nice graphics, shows a lot of work done.

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08am

Very good ambiance and original exploitation of the theme.

atomic_swerve says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11am

One small change that would have improved this for me tremendously - often I would find myself running off a platform when I know I jumped in time, and I think that was due to the curved tops of the platforms causing me to not be grounded right when I wanted to jump.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:08am

Cool puzzle game, I agree with FileCorrupted, very Zelda-like! I felt getting a game over and having to restart was a bit harsh... but maybe I should have been better! Also, I loved the audio for the projectiles.

crewderek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Thanks a bunch for the feedback! =) I do wish I did implement a checkpoint system. It is kind of harsh.

Integershift says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Confusing, but nice graphics

samooJAM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:01am

I made it to the level 3. I would play it more but because I have to restart it seems too ruthless. I would add unlimited lives add remove time limit also.
Otherwise I enjoyed its puzzles and atmosphere.

littleball says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:46am

Very tricky, but has promise. I'm always impressed by 3d work in such a short amount of time, so well done!

biscuitdough says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:03am

Solid entry with a simple concept executed well. Didn't feel like the time limit really added much, but had fun with it overall

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]