Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Surface Of Scratch Ticket

by dejant - 48 Hour Compo Entry

INSTRUCTIONS

Your goal is to win as much money as you can with only 5 scratch tickets.

On the first screen you can select your ticket price - more expensive the ticket, the more you win. You can scratch off a little bit of the ticket before you buy it. If you don't like it, just pass it and try another one. But beware, if you scratch it to much, you will be forced to buy it.

Game is over if you loose all your money or when you buy your fifth ticket.


Done with Eclipse and LibGdx.

I downloaded sounds and music from https://www.freesound.org/. Detailed list can be found in assets folder.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#137Innovation3.75
#189Humor3.16
#258Theme3.61
#412Overall3.32
#467Fun3.11
#484Audio2.88
#777Mood2.74
#990Graphics2.50

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27am

Really unique and cool idea.
Very well executed.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:35am

Awesome take on the theme. It was really hard, but fun, and I felt like I was getting better at scamming that poor lottery girl each time.

denvil says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Nice idea. Kept me trying for a while. Only problem was that sometimes it didn't cash the win. The casher took my money but didn't cash my winning ticket... so who was cheating who..

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Very good game, I loved playing this! btw MyHighScore is 18.

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Cool game!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Had fun playing, graphics and music are solid, good entry and very original

Moosefly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:57pm

That was intense! Managed to take home 31$ because of the 10$ ticket I was forced to buy. Really unique game with interesting gameplay and nice graphics and music.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

pLaw says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:42pm

That's a nice one. Really innovative concept. Good job!

jacklehamster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:28am

Not bad! I expected a classical luck based scratch game, and I thought... meh, I'll just relax a bit and pick some easy going game. Turns out the whole cheating part adds a whole dimension to it.

May 1, 2014 @ 7:58am

Excellent, really fun idea!

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:01am

Excellent game! My high-score is 50$, but I got as high as 80 once. I really liked how it got harder the higher I paid. Great job!

MSaul says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:04am

Nice idea. It's really hard to stop playing. Well done.

MintArcade says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:18pm

I'm reach now!! Seriously addictive game. Have to stop before to late ;)

Dominator_101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Nice! Pretty funny.

Loved the "Oh, yeah!"

Anti says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:28pm

This is a great game! Nice idea and good execution and!

XenosNS says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:24am

Nice! Love the mechanic of trying to cheat and see what's on the ticket before buying.

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Love audio. It reminds me of that peacefull Ragnarok Online location themes :) also idea is really unique. And quite addicting, lol.

I'd like to see it on mobile :D

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Interesting idea, good work!

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:16am

Really fun! Always nice with some gambling :) Got $40

CMaster says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Downloaded sounds and music means that this breaches compo rules -everything other than fonts + libraries must be your, 48 hour work for the compo.

Other than that, I liked the idea, and you managed to add an interesting mechanic to the basic premise of gambling.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:36pm

This is a really interesting take on the theme. But using sounds from freesound (even if they're publicly available) means you should have entered the jam, not the compo.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]